SENATE COMMITTEE ON FINANCE 
                             Tuesday, February 11, 2003 
                                     8:00 a.m. 
                           Capitol Extension, Room E1.036 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Finance was  
         held on Tuesday, February 11, 2003, in the Capitol Extension,  
         Room E1.036, at Austin, Texas. 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Teel Bivins                     None 
         Senator Judith Zaffirini 
         Senator Kip Averitt 
         Senator Gonzalo Barrientos 
         Senator Kim Brimer 
         Senator Robert Duncan 
         Senator Kyle Janek 
         Senator Jane Nelson 
         Senator Steve Ogden 
         Senator Florence Shapiro 
         Senator Eliot Shapleigh 
         Senator Todd Staples 
         Senator Royce West 
         Senator John Whitmire 
         Senator Tommy Williams 
         The chair called the meeting to order at 8:02 a.m.  The  
         following business was transacted:  
         The clerk called roll. 
         Members discussed the schedule for budget hearings and discussed  
         when to take up public testimony.  Senator West requested that  
         public testimony be heard at the end of each agency.  There was  
         no objection. 
         John Newton with the Legislative Budget Board gave opening  
         remarks on the New Budget Submission. 
         Testimony was given on the following agencies with witnesses on  
         the attached list: 
         Board of Professional Land Surveying    
         Department of Licensing and Regulation 
         Securities Board 
         Board of Medical Examiners 
         At 10:50 a.m. Senator Bivins moved that the committee stand  
         recessed until one hour after the Joint Session; without  
         objection, it was so ordered.   
         At 2:50 p.m. the committee reconvened.   
         Executive Council of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy  
         Real Estate Commission 
         Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board 
         Board of Plumbing Examiners 
         Board of Nurse Examiners 
         Board of Vocational Nurse Examiners 
         At 4:59 p.m. Senator Zaffirini assumed the chair.   
         Optometry Board 
         Structural Pest Control Board 
         Board of Pharmacy 
         At 5:32 p.m. Senator Bivins resumed the chair.   
         Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners 
         There being no further business, at 6:10 p.m. Senator Bivins  
         moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of  
         the chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Teel Bivins, Chair 
         Stephanie Hoover, Clerk