Tuesday, September 16, 2003 
                                     1:30 p.m. 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on  
         Administration was held on Tuesday, September 16, 2003, in  
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Chris Harris                    Senator John Whitmire 
         Senator Juan Hinojosa 
         Senator Mike Jackson 
         Senator Kyle Janek 
         Senator Leticia Van de Putte 
         Senator Jeff Wentworth 
         The chair called the meeting to order at 1:31 p.m.  There being  
         a quorum present, the following business was transacted:   
         Senator Harris reported the staff's research on rules that other  
         State's and Congress have regarding breaking of a quorum.   
         Senator Harris laid out a proposal for the Committee to  
         consider.  The Committee read through the proposal section by  
         section and discussed, making several suggestions.  Senator  
         Harris called on Walter Fisher, Senate Parliamentarian, to help  
         answer questions regarding the impact of the proposal  
         procedurally.  The Committee proceeded to continue through the  
         proposal section by section making suggestions. 
         Senator Harris asked for discussion on the second part of the  
         charge given by the Lieutenant Governor to the Administration  
         Committee.  This part of the charge asked that the Committee  
         make recommendations on changes to the fines and other sanctions  
         implemented during the Second Called Session of the 78th  
         Legislature.  After some discussion, the Committee decided that  
         their recommendation should be for the Senate Caucus to meet  
         immediately and resolve the matter expeditiously. 
         There being no further business, Senator Harris moved that the  
         Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair.   
         Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Chris Harris, Chair 
         Tara Cowen Rejino, Clerk