Monday, October 29, 2001 
                                     10:00 a.m. 
                           Capitol Extension, Room E1.012 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Natural  
         Resources was held on Monday, October 29, 2001, in the Capitol  
         Extension, Room E1.012, at Austin, Texas. 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator J. E. Brown                     Senator Robert Duncan 
         Senator Gonzalo Barrientos              Senator David Bernsen 
         Senator Teel Bivins                      
         Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr. 
         The Chair called the meeting to order at 10:12 a.m.  The  
         following business was transacted:   
         Senator Brown made opening remarks and introduced the Natural  
         Resources Committee staff.  Senators Barrientos and Lucio made  
         staff introductions as well.  The Chair notified the members and  
         those in attendance of the work charged to the Committee by the  
         Lieutenant Governor:  Interim studies on Senate Bill 5 and  
         Emissions Reductions in Texas, Colonia Water and Wastewater Self  
         Help Grant Program, Monitoring of The Joint Committee on Water  
         Resources; Texas Water Advisory Council and the Joint Committee  
         on Office of Natural Resources Public Interest Counsel, Texas'  
         Natural Disaster Response Preparedness, and Conversion of  
         Agricultural Waste into Alternative Fuels. 
         The following testified before the Committee: 
         Craig Pedersen, Texas Water Development Board - Colonia  
         Self-Help Program 
         Tommy Knowles, Texas Water Development Board - Colonia Self Help  
         Jeff Saitas, TNRCC - Emissions Reductions Efforts,  
         Implementation of SB5, Texas Emissions Reduction Plan and  
         TNRCC's Natural Disaster Preparedness 
         Joe Walraven, Sunset Advisory Commission - Office of Natural  
         Resources Public Interest Counsel 
         Duncan Norton, TNRCC -Office of Natural Resources Public  
         Interest Counsel 
         Blas Coy, TNRCC - Office of Natural Resources Public Interest  
         Tom Millwee, TX Department of Public Safety - Natural Disaster  
         Ralph Rayburn, Sea Grant Program - Natural Disaster Preparedness 
         Martin Hubert, Texas Department of Agriculture - Alternative  
         At 12:28 p.m., on the motion of the Chair and without objection,  
         the meeting recessed subject to the call of the Chair. 
         Senator J.E. "Buster" Brown, Chair 
         Teddy Carter, Clerk