Wednesday, March 27, 2002 
                                     8:30 a.m. 
                           Capitol Extension, Room E1.036 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Jurisprudence  
         was held on Wednesday, March 27, 2002, in the Capitol Extension,  
         Room E1.036, at Austin, Texas. 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Royce West                      Senator David Bernsen 
         Senator Robert Duncan                   Senator J. E. Brown 
         Senator Rodney Ellis 
         Senator Mike Jackson 
         Senator Jeff Wentworth 
         The chair called the meeting to order at 8:40 a.m.  
         The chair gave opening remarks. 
         The chair laid out charge 4:  Study and make recommendations  
         for improving the structure of the state's trial court  
         system, including, but not limited to: improving the  
         quality, cost-effectiveness, and uniformity of the visiting  
         judge program; devising objective criteria to be used by  
         the Legislature to determine when and where additional  
         trial courts should be created; and clarifying  
         jurisdictional conflicts between courts.  
         The clerk called roll.  There being a quorum present, the  
         following business was transacted: 
         Senator Jackson moved approval of the minutes from the previous  
         hearing held on February 21, 2002;  without objection, it was so  
         The following witnesses testified: 
         Panel 2  
         Judge B.B. Schraub, representing the 3rd Administrative Judicial  
         Judge Steve Ables, representing the 6th Administrative Judicial  
         Judge Olen Underwood, representing the 2nd Administrative  
         Judicial Region 
         Judge David Peeples, representing the 4th Administrative  
         Judicial Region 
         Judge Jeff Walker, representing the 8th Administrative Judicial  
         Judge John Ovard, representing the 1st Administrative Judicial  
         Panel 3 
         Judge Larry Wagenbach, representing self 
         Judge Orlinda Naranjo, representing Travis County Court at Law  
         Judge Jimmy White, representing the 1st Administrative Region 
         Judge Richard Bosworth, representing the 1st Administrative  
         Panel 4 
         Judge Gene Terry, representing Marion County/TAC 
         Jim Allison, representing the County Judges and Commissioners  
         Association of Texas 
         Judge Giles Dalby, representing Garza County and the  
         Constitutional Court Judicial Education Committee 
         Judge Cletis Millsap, representing Hopkins County 
         At 11:40 a.m. Senator Wentworth assumed the chair.  
         Panel 5  
         Jerry Benedict, representing the Office of Court Administration 
         Chuck Demos, representing Office of the Texas  
         At 11:45 a.m. Senator West resumed the chair.   
         At 11:54 a.m. the chair announced that the Committee recess for  
         At 1:07 p.m. the Committee reconvened. 
         Panel 6 
         Kellie Bailey, representing the Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers  
         Paulette Burks, representing the County and District Clerks  
         Becky Wilbanks, representing the County and District Clerks  
         Galen Sumrow, representing the Texas District and County  
         Attorneys' Association 
         Joseph Martinez, representing the Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers  
         Judge Morris L. Overstreet, representing self 
         Panel 1 
         Chief Justice Thomas Phillips, representing self 
         The following people registered but did not testify: 
         Judge Dean Rucker, representing the 7th Administrative Judicial  
         Missy Jackson, representing the Employers Retirement System 
         Judge M. Brock Jones, representing self (112th Judicial  
         Janet Monteros, representing the Mexican American Bar of Texas 
         Judge Lawrence E. Naiser, representing Wharton County 
         The chair announced that the Senate Jurisprudence Committee will  
         hold the next hearing in Houston, Texas on April 25, 2002.  The  
         Committee will discuss Charge 1 regarding progressive sanctions  
         for juvenile offenders. 
         There being no further business, at 2:10 p.m. Senator Wentworth  
         moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of  
         the chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Royce West, Chair 
         Stephanie Hoover, Clerk