Thursday, February 21, 2002 
                                     8:30 a.m. 
                           Capitol Extension, Room E1.012 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Jurisprudence  
         was held on Thursday, February 21, 2002, in the Capitol  
         Extension, Room E1.012, at Austin, Texas. 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Royce West                      Senator David Bernsen 
         Senator J. E. Brown 
         Senator Robert Duncan 
         Senator Rodney Ellis 
         Senator Mike Jackson 
         Senator Jeff Wentworth 
         The chair called the meeting to order at 8:35 a.m.  There being  
         a quorum present, the following business was transacted:   
         The chair gave opening remarks. 
         Senator Brown moved approval of the minutes from the previous  
         hearing held on January 24, 2002;  without objection, it was so  
         The chair laid out Charge 3:  Study and make recommendations for  
         the reapportionment of judicial districts pursuant to Article V,  
         Section 7a, Texas Constitution.  
         The following witnesses testified: 
         Judge B.B. Schraub, representing the Conference of Regional  
         Jerry Benedict, representing the Office of Court Administration 
         Alan Ware, representing the Texas Legislative Council 
         Margaret Bennett, representing the Office of Court  
         Jeff Archer, representing the Texas Legislative Council 
         Janet Monteros, representing the Mexican American Bar  
         Association of Texas 
         Judge Charles Chapman, representing the 39th District Court 
         Judge Glen Harrison, representing the 32nd District Court 
         Judge Ernie Armstrong, representing the 132nd District 
         There being no further business, at 10:55 a.m. Senator West  
         moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of  
         the chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Royce West, Chair 
         Stephanie Hoover, Clerk