SENATE COMMITTEE ON FINANCE 
                              Thursday, January 11, 2001 
                                      10:00 a.m. 
                            Capitol Extension, Room E1.036 
      Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.18, a  
      public hearing of the Senate Committee on Finance was held on Thursday,  
      January 11, 2001, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.036, at Austin,  
      MEMBERS PRESENT:                           MEMBERS ABSENT: 
      Senator Rodney Ellis                       Senator Chris Harris 
      Senator Gonzalo Barrientos                  
      Senator Robert Duncan 
      Senator Troy Fraser 
      Senator Tom Haywood 
      Senator Mike Jackson 
      Senator Jon Lindsay 
      Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr. 
      Senator Steve Ogden 
      Senator Carlos Truan 
      Senator John Whitmire 
       Senator Judith Zaffirini  
      The chair called the meeting to order at 10:02 a.m.  There being a  
      quorum present, the following  
      The following members arrived after the roll was called:   
      Senator Robert Duncan 
      Senator Troy Fraser 
      Senator John Whitmire 
      The Chair gave introductory remarks and welcomed new members to the  
      Senate Finance Committee. The intent of the Chair is to hold budget  
      hearings Monday through Thursday each week. The Committee will meet  
      throughout  the day except when the Senate is in session.  Exceptions  
      will be made next week for the Martin Luther King holiday and the  
      Inauguration in Washington, D.C..  
      The Chair introduced Committee staff. 
      The Chair laid out draft Committee Rules and asked members to review  
      them for adoption at the next meeting on 1-16-2001.  If there are any  
      changes, please submit them to the Committee staff before the meeting. 
      The Chair introduced  John Keel, representing the Legislative Budget  
      Board; Billy Hamilton, representing the Comptroller's Office; and Tony  
      Fabelo, representing the Criminal Justice Policy Council to provide an  
      overview of key issues included in the budget recommendations (Senate  
      Bill 1). 
      The Chair recognized the following witnesses to provide testimony  
      regarding Legislative Budget Board recommendations:  
       Texas Health and Human Services Commission 
                Don Gilbert, Commissioner 
      The Chair asked if the Commissioner would come back on Tuesday, January  
      16, 2001 when Senator Harris, Vice-Chair would be in attendance to ask  
      Texas Education Agency 
                Jim Nelson, Commissioner of Education 
      Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board 
              Dr. Don W. Brown, Commissioner  
      Texas Department of Criminal Justice 
                Tony Fabelo, Ph.D., Executive Director, Criminal Justice  
      Policy Council 
                Wayne Scott, Executive Director, Texas Department of Criminal  
                Steve Robinson, Executive Director, Texas Youth Commission 
                Vicki Spriggs, Executive Director, Texas Juvenile Probation  
                James R. (Jim) Hine, Executive Director, Texas Department of  
      Protective and Regulatory Services 
      The Chair asked if Wayne Scott and members of his Board  would come back  
      on Tuesday, January16, 2001. 
      There being no further business, Senator Ellis moved that the Committee  
      stand recessed until 9:00 a.m.,  Tuesday, January 16, 2001.  Without  
      objection, it was so ordered.   
      Senator Rodney Ellis, Chair 
      Myra  J. Schmitt, Clerk