The House Committee on Redistricting 
         77th Legislature 
         January 23, 2001 
         2:00 p.m. 
         Capitol Extension, E2.010 
         Pursuant to a notice posted on January 18, 2001, the House  
         Committee on Redistricting met in a formal meeting and was  
         called to order by the chair, Representative Jones, Delwin, at  
         2:05 p.m. 
         The roll was answered as follows: 
         Present:  Representatives Jones, Delwin; Glaze; Bosse; Counts;  
                   Dunnam; Grusendorf; Hunter; Keel; Luna, Vilma;  
                   Marchant; McClendon; Pitts; Sadler (13). 
         Absent:   Representatives Moreno, Paul; Wilson (2). 
         A quorum was present. 
         The Chairman welcomed the new members to the committee. 
         (Representative Wilson now present.) 
         Jeff Archer, David Hanna, and Alan Ware of the Texas Legislative  
         Council briefed the committee on recent court cases on  
         redistricting and on the timeline for receipt of Census data. 
         At 3:37 p.m., on the motion of the chair and without objection,  
         the meeting was recessed subject to the call of the chair. 
         Rep. Jones, Delwin, Chair 
         Glen Hunt, Clerk