The House Committee on Agriculture & Livestock 
         77th Legislature 
         May 29, 2002 
         1:00 p.m. 
         Capitol Extension, E2.014 
         Pursuant to a notice posted on May 9, 2002, the House Committee  
         on Agriculture & Livestock met in a public hearing and was  
         called to order by the chair, Representative Swinford, at 1:10  
         The roll was answered as follows: 
         Present:  Representatives Swinford; McReynolds; Christian;  
                   Hardcastle; Hupp; Miller (6). 
         Absent:   Representatives Brown, Betty; Green; Kolkhorst (3). 
         A quorum was present. 
         The chair recognized the following individuals to testify  
         regarding Interim Charge 1: 
         Martin Hubert, Texas Department of Agriculture 
         (Representative Green now present.) 
         Bryan Gentsch, BASF Corporation 
         Linda Logan, Texas Animal Health Commission  
         (Representative McReynolds in chair.) 
         Charles Scifres, Texas Agricultural Experiment Station  
         Neville Clark, Texas Agricultural Experiment Station 
         Lelve Gayle, Texas Veterinary Medical Diagnostic Laboratory 
         (Representative Swinford in chair.) 
         Ray Prewitt, Texas Citrus Mutual 
         John DeGraca, Texas A&M University Kingsville  
         Dwayne Bair, Edinburg Citrus Association                          
         Eddy Edmondson, Texas Nursery and Landscape Association 
         (Representative McReynolds in chair.) 
         Charles Leamons, Texas Seed Trade Association           
         David Worrall, Texas Seed Trade Association 
         (Representative Swinford in chair.) 
         Gary Elliott, representing himself 
         (Representative McReynolds in chair.) 
         Ross Wilson, Texas Cattle Feeders Association 
         At 4:59 p.m., on the motion of the chair and without objection,  
         the meeting was adjourned subject to the call of the chair. 
         Rep. Swinford, Chair 
         Joe Cox, Clerk