Judicial Affairs Committee
July 28, 2000-10:00A

Drug Courts
    For:      Bouie, Ruby (Self and Divert Court)
              Coomes, Mark (Self and Denton Co. Democratic Party)
              Francis, Judge Robert (Dallas Co. Criminal District
                   Court # 3)
              Holwerda, George (Self)
              Holwerda, Seth William (Self and Divert Court & Judge
                   John Creuzot)
              Robertson, Isiah (Self and Divert Court & House of
              Smith, Les (Tarrant Co. Commissioners Court)
              Todd, Carol (Divert Court)

Hate Crimes Laws
    For:      Atkinson, Steve (Self and Lesbian/Gay Rights Lobby of
              Briskman, Mark L. (Anti-Defamation League)
              Coomes, Mark (Self and Denton Co. Democratic Party)
              Crain, Jane C. (Self and P-FLAG)
              Ehrhardt, Rep. Harryette (Self)
              Gray, Asst. Chief Shirley A. (Dallas Police Department)
              Kirk, Dallas Mayor Ron (Self and City of Dallas)
              Loza, Dallas City Councilmember John (Self)
              McDaniel, Sunny (Self)
              McGill, Sandy (Self)
              Pease, Lawrence (Self and Human Rights Campaign)
              Price, Dallas Co. Commissioner John Wiley (Self)
              Selig, John R. (Self and GLSEN & StopDr.Laura.com)
              Staples, Geoffrey (Self)
              Yates, Judith (Self)
  Registering, but not testifying:
    For:      Alonzo, Roberto (Mexican American Democrats of Texas)
              Arnold, David (Self)
              Coleman, Dennis (Self and Human Rights Campaign)
              Gleason, David (Self and P-FLAG)
              Kinsler, Christy (Self)
              Miles, Carol (Self)
              Salazar, Deputy Mayor Steve (Self)
              Taffet, David (Self and Congregation Beth El Binah)
              Zachary, Billy (Self)
    Against:  Galloway, Carolyn (Texas Eagle Forum)
    On:       Hodge, Rep. Terri (Self)

Judicial Campaign Finance
    On:       Smith, Tom "Smitty" (Public Citizen)

Judicial Redistricting
    On:       Gray, Justice Tom (Self and Tenth Court of Appeals)
              Thomas, Chief Justice Linda (Council of Chief Justices &
                   Fifth Court of Appeals)