Monday, July 10, 2000 
                                     10:00 a.m. 
                           Capitol Extension, Room E1.016 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Agriculture  
         Policy was held on Monday, July 10, 2000, in the Capitol  
         Extension, Room E1.016, at Austin, Texas. 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Tom Haywood                     Senator Kenneth  
         Senator Steve Ogden                     Senator Teel Bivins 
         Representative David Swinford           Representative Robert  
         Representative Jim McReynolds 
         Representative Bob Turner 
         Representative David Swinford, the acting co-chairman, called  
         the meeting to order at 10:13 a.m.  There being a quorum  
         present, the following business was transacted:   
         Representative Swinford made a few opening comments. 
         A motion was made by Representative Turner to approve the  
         minutes of the June 20th hearing.  The motion was seconded by  
         Representative McReynolds.  There being no objection, it was so  
         The following testified before the committee: 
         Ross Wilson, Texas Cattle Feeders Association 
         Dr. Max E. Coats, Texas Animal Health Commission 
         Ben Boerner, Texas Grain and Feed Association 
         Tony Williams, Texas Cotton Ginner's Association 
         Martin Hubert, Texas Department of Agriculture 
         James G. Butler, Texas A&M System Agriculture Program 
         Julie Shackelford, American Farmland Trust 
         At 1:07p.m., on the motion of Co-Chairman Swinford and without  
         objection, the meeting was recessed subject to the call of the  
         Senator Tom Haywood, Co-Chair           Representative David  
                                                 Swinford, Co-Chair 
         Kris Wessels, Clerk                     Courtney Trolinger,