Tuesday, June 20, 2000 
                                     10:00 a.m. 
                     West Central Texas Council of Governments 
                                   Abilene, Texas 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Agriculture  
         Policy was held on Tuesday, June 20, 2000, at the West Central  
         Texas Council of Governments in Abilene, Texas 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Tom Haywood                     Senator Kenneth  
         Representative David Swinford           Senator Teel Bivins 
         Representative Robert Cook              Senator Steve Ogden 
         Representative Jim McReynolds 
         Representative Bob Turner 
         The chair called the meeting to order at 10:05 a.m.  There being  
         a quorum present, the following business was transacted:   
         Senator Haywood made a brief introduction of the Joint  
         Committee's interim charge to study the implementation of House  
         Bill 2, which establishes a framework for a statewide  
         agriculture policy.  Representative Swinford made an opening  
         statement and introduced the House Joint Committee members.   
         Representative Swinford turned his Co-chair position over to  
         Representative Turner, since the hearing was in his area of the  
         state.  Representative Turner made a few brief opening comments.  
         A motion was made by Representative McReynolds to approve the  
         minutes of the May 31st hearing.  The motion was seconded by  
         Representative Swinford.  There being no objection, it was so  
         The following testified before the committee: 
         Carl King, Texas Corn Grower's Association 
         Ray Joe Riley, representing self 
         Leland D. Robinson, representing self 
         David N. Perdue, representing self 
         Steve Moore, Rolling Plains Cotton Growers, Inc. 
         Steve Verett, Plains Cotton Growers, Inc. 
         Jule Richmond, Texas Sheep & Goat Raisers Association 
         John B. Hofmann, TNRCC 
         Lindy Patton, Texas Boll Weevil Eradication Foundation 
         Those submitting written testimony: 
         J.W. Vinson, representing himself 
         Dan Hunter, Southwestern Peanut Grower's Association 
         Those registering, but not testifying: 
         Trey Powers, Texas Department of Agriculture  
         At 2:35 p.m., on the motion of the Co-Chair and without  
         objection, the meeting was recessed subject to the call of the  
         Senator Tom Haywood, Co-Chair           Representative David  
                                                 Swinford, Co-Chair 
         Kris Wessels, Clerk                     Courtney Trolinger,