Friday, June 2, 2000 
                                     12:00 p.m. 
                           Capitol Extension, Room E1.012 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Joint Committee on Health Benefit  
         Mandates (Interim) was held on Friday, June 2, 2000, in the  
         Capitol Extension, Room E1.012, at Austin, Texas. 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Jane Nelson, Co-Chair           Senator Steve Ogden 
         Senator Gonzalo Barrientos              Representative Craig  
         Senator John Carona                     Representative John  
         Senator Frank Madla 
         Representative Pete Gallego, Co-Chair 
         Representative Kip Averitt 
         Representative Patricia Gray 
         Senator Nelson, co-chair, called the meeting to order at 12:07  
         p.m.  There being a quorum present, the following business was  
         Senator Nelson, co-chair, called witnesses to testify on health  
         care benefit mandates.  
         The following witnesses provided written and oral testimony: 
              Mark Holt, M.D., Self 
              Patricia McCandless, UniCare 
              Thomas Wildsmith, Health Insurance Association of America 
         The following witnesses provided oral testimony: 
              Stephen Sims, Foundation One Insurance Services, LC 
              Mark D. Wernicke, Humana, Employers Health  
              Mike Kellen, Fortis Health 
              Peter K. Reilly, Aetna U.S. Healthcare, Prudential  
              Betty DeLargy, United Healthcare 
              Kay Simonton, Blue Cross Blue Shield, NYLCare Health Plans 
              Dianne Longley, Texas Department of Insurance 
              Clif Mitchell, Texas Association of Insurance Officials 
         There being no further business, at 2:45 p.m. Senator Nelson  
         recessed the committee, subject to the call of the chair. 
         Senator Jane Nelson, Co-Chair 
         Cheri Huddleston, Clerk