SENATE COMMITTEE ON STATE AFFAIRS 
                                Friday, May 26, 2000 
                                     8:00 a.m. 
                   Brownsville Public Library, Brownsville, Texas 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on State Affairs  
         was held on Friday, May 26, 2000, in the Brownsville Public  
         Library, Brownsville, Texas. 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Florence Shapiro                Senator David Bernsen 
         Senator Eliot Shapleigh                 Senator David Cain 
         Senator J. E. Brown 
         Senator Tom Haywood 
         Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr. 
         Senator Drew Nixon 
         Senator Jeff Wentworth 
         The chair called the meeting to order at 8:14 a.m.  There being  
         a quorum present, the following business was transacted: 
         The following members arrived after the roll was called:   
         Senator Haywood and Senator Wentworth. 
         The Chair and Senator Lucio, Jr. welcomed the Senate Committee  
         on State Affairs and the Senate Special Committee on Border  
         Affairs and asked members of both committees for opening  
         Senator Shapleigh moved that the minutes from previous hearings  
         be approved, without objection, it was so ordered.  
         At 9:34 a.m. Senator Lucio, Jr. assumed the chair.   
         Witnesses testifying and registering on Committee Charge No. 1  
         are shown on the attached list.   
         At 10:21 a.m. Senator Shapiro resumed the chair.   
         The Chair moved that the public testimony be closed; without  
         objection, it was so ordered.   
         There being no further business, at 11:37 a.m. the Chair moved  
         that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the  
         Chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Florence Shapiro, Chair 
         Cindy S. Hodges, Clerk