Wednesday, September 27, 2000 
                                     1:00 p.m. 
                            Radisson Hotel, Tyler, Texas 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Redistricting  
         was held on Wednesday, September 27, 2000, in the Radisson  
         Hotel, Tyler, Texas 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Troy Fraser                     Senator Mike Jackson 
         Senator Mario Gallegos, Jr.             Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr. 
         Senator Gonzalo Barrientos              Senator Frank Madla 
         Senator Robert Duncan                   Senator Royce West 
         Senator Jane Nelson 
         Senator Steve Ogden 
         Senator Florence Shapiro 
         Co-chair Gallegos called the meeting to order at 1:10 p.m.   
         There being a quorum present, the following business was  
         Co-chair Gallegos welcomed everyone to Tyler for the  
         Redistricting Outreach Hearing.  Chairman Jones explained to the  
         audience that the Senate and House Committees on Redistricting  
         were meeting together, but were not a joint committee.   
         Representative Glaze and Senator Cain welcomed everyone to  
         Tyler.  Senator Shapiro took a moment of personal privilege to  
         announce that it was Senator Nelson's 25th wedding anniversary. 
         The following people testified on Redistricting: 
               de Noyelles, John (Republican Party of Smith County),  
                      Barron, Kenneth R. (self, former County Judge of  
                                  County), Tyler                                      
               Berman, Rep. Leo (District 6 Texas House of  
              Representatives), Tyler                                                                                                         
                      Boner, Olena (self), Mabank                                     
                      Deckard, Ernest (Tyler NAACP Branch), Tyler                     
                      Eltife, Kevin (Mayor of Tyler), Tyler                             
               Emmert, Sharon (Smith County Commissioner), Tyler                 
               Flatt, Douglas (self), Tyler                                      
                      Foreman, James (Van Zandt County Democratic Party),  
         Wills Point   
                      Griffin, Margaret A. (self), Kilgore                              
                      Homer, Rep. Mark (District 3 Texas House of  
               Hudson, David (self), Tyler                                       
                      Jackson, Mary (self), Tyler                                       
                     Manley, Brian (self), Tyler                                    
                     Millsap, Cletis (Hopkins County Judge), Sulphur  
                     Minter, Joe B. (Superintendent of Schools Como-Picton  
                     Nickerson, Jim (self), Pittsburg                               
                     Rucker, J. Ray (self), Grand Saline                            
                     Sisk, Bob (Rains County), Emory                                
                     Smith, Mickey (Gregg County Judge), Longview                   
                     Tew, Joe (self), Tyler                                           
               Thompson, Charles R. (Wood County Democratic Party),  
            Registering, but not testifying:   
                 Hilliard, Cary (self), Canton                                    
                        Runnels, David (Judge Jack Leath County  
         Commissioner of          
                                 Sabine), Hemphill                                    
                        Wilson, Jimmy Don (Van Zandt County  
         Commissioner), Wills Point   
            Written materials submitted:        
                        Burns, Albert H. (self), Tyler                                   
                        Garrett, Royce (self), Lufkin                                    
                        Hall, Derrell (Fannin County Judge), Bonham                    
                        Hufford, Ron (Texas Forestry Association), Tyler               
                        Jenkins, Sebetha (Jarvis Christian College),  
                        Jones, Larry W. (Smith County Democrats), Tyler                
                        McGary, Derrick (Texarkana City Council),  
                        Telford, Rep. Barry (District 1 Texas House of                 
                            Representatives), DeKalb                           
         Senator Shapiro moved adoption of the minutes from the previous  
         hearing held on September 22, 2000; without objection, it was so  
         There being no further business, at 2:45 p.m. Co-chair Gallegos  
         moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of  
         the chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Troy Fraser, Co-Chair 
         Senator Mario Gallegos, Jr., Co-Chair 
         Tara Cowen Rejino, Clerk