Saturday, July 8, 2000 
                                     9:00 a.m. 
                       Weslaco, Texas-Best Western Palm Aire 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Redistricting  
         was held on Saturday, July 8, 2000, in Weslaco, Texas at the  
         Best Western Palm Aire. 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Troy Fraser                     Senator Robert Duncan 
         Senator Mario Gallegos, Jr.             Senator Mike Jackson 
         Senator Gonzalo Barrientos              Senator Jane Nelson 
         Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr. 
         Senator Frank Madla 
         Senator Steve Ogden 
         Senator Florence Shapiro 
         Senator Royce West 
         Co-chair Gallegos called the meeting to order at 9:25 a.m.   
         There being a quorum present, the following business was  
         Co-Chair Gallegos and Chairman Jones gave opening remarks  
         thanking the Valley for hosting the Redistricting Committees.   
         Senator Eddie Lucio welcomed the committee to Weslaco. 
         The following people testified before the Redistricting  
           Alaniz, David Perez (Mayor of La Villa), La Villa         
           Besteiro Jr., Raul A. (self), Brownsville                 
           Borchard, Richard (Nueces County Judge), Corpus Christi   
           Braught, Gene (Mayor of Weslaco), Weslaco                 
           Caceres, Cain (self), Elsa                                
           Calvillo, Simon D. (self), Mercedes                             
           Castillo Jr., Miguel (Mayor of the City of Mercedes), Mercedes  
           Cuellar, Rep. Henry (District 42), Laredo                       
           Ellis, Gary (Ivan Welker, Acting City Manager for the City of   
                       Brownsville), Brownsville                           
           Esquivel Jr., Filemon (City of Kingsville, TX- Mayor),          
           Flores, Ismael "Kino" (District 36), Mission                    
           Fogarty, Patricia C. (self), McAllen                            
           Gonzalez, Cristina (Senator Judith Zaffirini), Austin             
           Gonzalez, Oscar O. (Jim Hogg County Commissioner),  
           Gutierrez, Rep. Roberto (District 41), McAllen                    
           Hebert, J. Gerald (IMPAC 2000), Washington D.C.                   
           Hinojosa, Ruben (U.S. Congress-Texas District 15), Mercedes       
           Madrigal, Gregorio M. (Mayor of City of Elsa), Elsa               
           Martinez, Mercurio (County Judge for Webb County), Laredo         
           Mendoza, Robert S. (Cameron County Election Administration),      
           Messbarger, Dick (Greater Kingsville Economic Development    
                       Council), Kingsville                             
           Molina, Judge Agapito (County Judge for Jim Hogg County),  
           Porter, Gordon (County Commissioner, San Patricio County),   
           Pulido, Jose Eloy (Hidalgo County Judge), Edinburg           
           Saldana, Rodolfo (Mayor of the City of Lyford), Lyford       
           Salinas, Simon (Willacy County Judge), Raymondville          
           Selman, Samuel Keith (City of Laredo), Laredo                
           Wise, Rep. Miguel (District 39), Weslaco                          
            Yowell, Joel (Texas Republican County Chairmans Association),     
                                Corpus Christi                                        
           The following people registered but did not testify:                                           
              Burleson, Dennis (Mission Economic Development Authority),        
                    Dorsey, Carolyn (State Representative Gene Seaman),  
                    Ramirez, Sylvia (Congressman Solomon P. Ortiz),  
         Corpus Christi    
                    Summers, Bill (Rio Grande Valley Partnership),  
                    Tamez, Israel (self), Raymondville                          
         The following people submitted written materials:           
                  Brisack, Chris A. (self), Edinburg                          
                  Rutledge Jr., Hollis V. (Texas Republican County Chair      
                              Association), Mission                           
                  Salazar, Ezequiel (self), Elsa                              
                  Silva, Ramiro (City of Edcouch), Edcouch                    
                  Valles-Pankratz, Sheila (Hidalgo County Republican Party    
                              Deputy Chair), Mission                          
         During the meeting Senator Shapiro asked a question of the Chair  
         as to what the committee could do to get the Census to pay  
         specific attention to the undercount in certain areas, such as  
         the Valley.  The Co-Chairs advised her that a letter could be  
         written to the Lieutenant Governor, the Governor and the  
         President.  She suggested that the committee do so, and the  
         Co-Chairs asked counsel to consider it for the next meeting.   
         Senator Barrientos made a parliamentary inquiry as to whether a  
         motion could be made that would allow the committee to take a  
         vote to recommend to Congress and the President that sampling be  
         used.  The Co-Chairs asked counsel to consider this also for the  
         next meeting. 
         Senator West asked that the committee have someone from the  
         Census Bureau come to the next meeting in Lubbock so that they  
         can update the committee as to the status of the Census. 
         Finally Senator Lucio made a parliamentary inquiry asking if at  
         the next meeting the Co-Chairs could have staff find out how the  
         monies sent to Texas for the Census have been spent.  The  
         Co-Chairs asked the committee staff to prepare a list for the  
         next meeting. 
         There being no further business, at 1:36 p.m. Senator Gallegos,  
         Jr. moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call  
         of the chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Troy Fraser, Co-Chair 
         Senator Mario Gallegos, Jr., Co-Chair 
         Tara Cowen Rejino, Clerk