Wednesday, May 31, 2000 
                                     1:00 p.m. 
                           University of Texas at El Paso 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Redistricting  
         was held on Wednesday, May 31, 2000, in the University of Texas  
         at El Paso 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Troy Fraser                     Senator Florence Shapiro 
         Senator Mario Gallegos, Jr.             Senator Royce West 
         Senator Gonzalo Barrientos 
         Senator Robert Duncan 
         Senator Mike Jackson 
         Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr. 
         Senator Frank Madla 
         Senator Jane Nelson 
         Senator Steve Ogden 
         Co-Chair Gallegos called the meeting to order at 1:13pm.  There  
         being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:   
         The Mayor of El Paso, Carlos Ramirez, welcomed the Senate and  
         House Committees to the city of El Paso.  Afterwards Dr.  
         Natalicio, President of the University of Texas at El Paso,  
         welcomed the committees to the university campus for their  
         Brief remarks were made by Representatives Norma Chavez, Paul  
         Moreno and Manny Najera and Senators Eliot Shapleigh and Robert  
         Duncan of the El Paso area. 
         The following people gave testimony on Redistricting: 
             Coleman, Barry (self), El Paso                              
             Esparza, Jaime (self, district attorney), El Paso           
             Fierro, Queta (El Paso County Democratic Party), El Paso    
             Finke, Eugene I. (self), El Paso                            
             Finley, Charlsetta W. (self), El Paso                            
             Firth, Syvia Borunda (self), El Paso                             
             Hebert, J. Gerald (IMPAC 2000), Washington D.C.                  
             Lovelady, William (self), Tornillo                               
             Margo, D.R. (Dee) (self), El Paso                                
             McKissack, Howard (Mayor, City of Fort Stockton, Texas),  
             Milem, John (self), Dallas                                       
             Molinar, Jorge A. (self), El Paso                                
             Natalicio, Diana (University of Texas at El Paso), El Paso    
             Quintanilla, Inocente (self), Tornillo                        
             Ramirez, Mayor Carlos (City of El Paso), El Paso              
             Reed, M.D., Teresa A. (self), El Paso                         
             Sandoval, Veronica (Montoya Heights), El Paso                 
             Villareal, Sofia (Montoya Heights), El Paso                   
             Wachtel, William J. (self), El Paso                           
         The following people registered but did not testify: 
             Barraza, Hector (self), El Paso                             
             Neill Jr., Robert G. (Texas Democratic Party), El Paso        
         Co-Chairman Fraser moved adoption of the minutes from the  
         previous hearing held on May 16, 2000; without objection, it was  
         so ordered.   
         There being no further business, at 5:00 p.m. Co-Chairman  
         Gallegos, Jr. moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to  
         the call of the chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Troy Fraser, Co-Chair 
         Senator Mario Gallegos, Jr., Co-Chair 
         Tara Cowen Rejino, Clerk