Tuesday, May 16, 2000 
                                     1:30 p.m. 
                  San Antonio, Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Redistricting  
         was held on Tuesday, May 16, 2000, in the San Antonio, Henry B.  
         Gonzales Convention Center 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Troy Fraser                     Senator Mario Gallegos,  
         Senator Gonzalo Barrientos              Senator Steve Ogden 
         Senator Robert Duncan                   Senator Florence Shapiro 
         Senator Mike Jackson                    Senator Royce West 
         Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr. 
         Senator Frank Madla 
         Senator Jane Nelson 
         The chair called the meeting to order at 1:50 p.m.  There being  
         a quorum present, the following business was transacted:   
         Senator Lucio, Jr. moved adoption of the minutes from the  
         previous hearings held on April 15, 2000, and April 14, 2000;  
         without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senators Fraser, Madla and Wentworth and Representatives  
         Shields, Montoya, and Uresti welcomed everyone to San Antonio  
         for the hearing.  The Mayor of San Antonio, Howard Peak, also  
         welcomed everyone to San Antonio.   
         Senator Barrientos made recommendations to the committee on  
         witness testimony. 
         The following people testified at the Redistricting hearing: 
              Anderson, Mayor Bob (Mayor of Castle Hills), San Antonio     
                      Baselice, Mike (Texans for Fair Redistricting),  
             Crank II, Alex S. (self), Elmendorf                          
             Finger, Jack M. (self), San Antonio                          
            Hanna, David (Texas Legislative Council), Austin             
            Hebert, J. Gerald (IMPAC 2000), Washington D.C.                 
            Hofeller, Thomas (self, Republican National Committee),         
                        Alexandria, VA                                      
            Howard, James (self, School Board Member), San Antonio          
            Korbel, George (Mexican American Hispanic Caucus), San  
            Madden, Jensie (League of Women Voters of Texas), San Antonio   
            Masset, Royal (Texans for Fair Redistricting), Austin           
            Milem, John (self), Dallas                                      
            Murnin, John (Common Cause of Texas), San Antonio               
           Owens, William C. (self), San Antonio                            
           Peak, Mayor Howard (San Antonio City Council), San Antonio       
           Powell, Mary (self), San Antonio                                 
           Rockeymoore, Thomas C. (San Antonio Branch NAACP), San Antonio   
           Shields, Rep. John H. (Texas House District 122), San Antonio    
           Streater, Joy (County Clerk for Comal County), New Braunfels     
           Ware, Alan (Texas Legislative Council), Austin                   
           Registering, but not testifying:                                          
           On:      Burnham, Perry (self), San Antonio                               
                    Dean, Jeffrey A. (self), San Antonio                             
                    Martinez, Emilio (self), San Antonio                             
                    Menendez, Jose (self), San Antonio                               
           Written materials submitted:                                              
           On:      Gonzalez, Charles (Congressman District 20),  
         Washington D.C.     
                    Reyes, Norma (Congressman Ciro D. Rodriguez), San  
         There being no further business, at 6:30 p.m. Senator Madla  
         moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of  
         the chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Troy Fraser, Co-Chair 
         Senator Mario Gallegos, Jr., Co-Chair 
         Tara Cowen Rejino, Clerk