Friday, April 14, 2000 
                                     1:30 p.m. 
                          University of Texas at Arlington 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Redistricting  
         was held on Friday, April 14, 2000, in the University of Texas  
         at Arlington 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Troy Fraser                     Senator Robert Duncan 
         Senator Mario Gallegos, Jr.             Senator Steve Ogden 
         Senator Gonzalo Barrientos 
         Senator Mike Jackson 
         Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr. 
         Senator Frank Madla 
         Senator Jane Nelson 
         Senator Florence Shapiro 
         Senator Royce West 
         The chair called the meeting to order at 1:47 p.m.  There being  
         a quorum present, the following business was transacted:   
         Senator Fraser moved adoption of the minutes from the previous  
         hearing held on March 4, 2000; without objection, it was so  
         The following people testified on Redistricting: 
                    Ake, Delton (Judge Al Cornelius, Ellis County Judge),            
                        Alonzo, Roberto (Mexican American Democrats of  
                        Texas), Dallas    
                   Archer, Jeff (Texas Legislative Council), Austin                 
              Armstrong, Sharon (Stop Six Poly Association), Fort Worth  
              Ballard, Rusty (self), Waxahachie                           
              Bell, Judy (City of Crandall), Crandall                     
              Bloom Jr., Luckland (self, Associate Professor of Law at    
                        Southern Methodist Univ.), Dallas               
              Boyd, Ealy (Congressman Martin Frost), Forest Hill          
              Brender, Art (Tarrant County Democratic Party County        
                        Chairman), Fort Worth                           
              Burnam, Rep. Lon (Representative), Austin                   
              Coker, Dorothy (self), Fort Worth                           
              Davis, Wendy (self, Attorney-City Council Rep. District 9  
                       Worth), Fort Worth                                    
              Dennie, Robert L. (Johnson County Voters Represented by  
                       Wohlgemuth), Burleson                                 
              DeLorme, John T. (self), Bedford                                  
              Edmonds, Bobbie (Community of SE Fort Worth, Legal Law  
                       of Bobbie Edmonds), Fort Worth                        
              Fernandez, Daniel (Arlington Republican Club), Arlington          
              Gaines, Jesse (Fort Worth Tarrant County Branch of the  
                       Fort Worth                                            
              Geisel, Paul (self, professor of Urban Affairs), Fort Worth       
              Gladden, Wilhelmina (self), Fort Worth                            
              Groff, Horace (Grayson County Commissioners), Sherman             
              Hatchell, Jack (Collin County Commissioners Court),  
              Hebert, Felix (Mayor of Benbrook), Benbrook                       
              Hebert, J. Gerald (IMPAC 2000-The Democratic Party's  
                       Redistricting Project), Washington D.C.                
              Lancaster, Carlton (Senior Citizen Services of Greater  
                       County), Arlington             
              Markham, Douglas E. (self, attorney), Houston                
              McCloud, Ralph (City of Fort Worth), Fort Worth              
              Milem, John (Self, business consultant), Dallas              
              Odom, Elzie (Mayor of Arlington), Arlington                  
              Prabhu, Barbara (League of Women Voters of Arlington and     
                        Tarrant County), Arlington                       
              Putnam, Joe (Mayor of Irving), Irving                        
              Ragley, Buddy (Collin County Republican Party), Plano        
              Ridgeway, Bill (Northeast Tarrant Chambers of Commerce),         
                       Halton City                                          
              Riley, County Judge Mark (self, Parker County Judge),  
              Scoma, Charles (Mayor of North Richland Hills), North  
              Stone, Troy K. (self), Red Oak                                   
              Swearingen, Stephen (self), White Settlement                      
              Tabor, John (self), Waxahachie                                   
              Thomas, Doris (self), Fort Worth                                 
              Thompson, Rep Garfield (Representative), Houston     
              Ware, Alan (Texas Legislative Council), Austin                    
              White, R.D. (City of Hillsboro), Hillsboro                        
            Registering, but not testifying:                                           
              Brown, Ron (self), Red Oak                                        
                     Burger, Julia (self, Arlington City Council Member  
                                 5), Arlington                                                                                                
                     Harris, Belvin R. (Cooke County Texas), Gainesville                                                            
                     Hervey, Madeleine (Common Cause), Dallas                                                                          
                     McDaniel, Roland (Precinct and Tarrant County  
                                 Party), Fort Worth 
              Paniagua, Joe (City of Fort Worth City Council), Fort Worth  
              Saltsgiver, Janet (Precinct 1075 Chair), Fort Worth               
              Southern, David (City of Granbury), Granbury                      
              Taylor, Quincy (Stop Six Poly Association), Stop Six              
             Written materials submitted:                                               
              Boze, Jerry (Greater Kaufman Chamber of Commerce and  
                                  Bureau), Kaufman                                      
              Cade, Chuck (self), Kaufman                                       
              Harmon, Roger (Johnson County Commissioner Court), Cleburne       
              Raymond, Ray (self), Kaufman    
              Shipley, Jim (Greater Kaufman Chamber of Commerce and  
                       Bureau), Kaufman          
         There being no further business, at 6:40 p.m. Senator Gallegos  
         moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of  
         the chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Troy Fraser, Co-Chair 
         Senator Mario Gallegos, Jr., Co-Chair 
         Tara Cowen Rejino, Clerk