Saturday, March 4, 2000 
                                     10:00 a.m. 
                 George R. Brown Convention Center, Houston, Texas 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Redistricting  
         was held on Saturday, March 4, 2000, in the George R. Brown  
         Convention Center, Houston, Texas. 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Troy Fraser                     Senator Robert Duncan 
         Senator Mario Gallegos, Jr.             Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr. 
         Senator Gonzalo Barrientos              Senator Royce West 
         Senator Mike Jackson 
         Senator Frank Madla 
         Senator Jane Nelson 
         Senator Steve Ogden 
         Senator Florence Shapiro 
         The Co-chairman Gallegos called the meeting to order at 10:05  
         a.m.  There being a quorum present, the following business was  
         Co-chairman Gallegos, Jr. moved adoption of the minutes from the  
         previous hearing held on February 16, 2000; without objection,  
         it was so ordered.   
         Houston Council members John Castillo and Gabriel Vasquez  
         welcomed the Senate and House Committees on Redistricting to  
         Houston.  Co-chairman Gallegos and Co-chairman Fraser gave  
         opening remarks.  Co-chairman Fraser reminded everyone that  
         there will be a bone marrow drive for Representative Ronnie  
         Crownover at the Capitol on March 15th.  He urged everyone to  
         Senators Jackson, Ogden and Brown and Representatives Bosse,  
         Noriega, Zbranek, Williams and Coleman each spoke briefly on  
         David Hanna, of the Legislative Council, gave a presentation on  
         One person, One Vote.  
         Testimony on Census 2000 was given by Marshall Turner and  
         Alfonso Mirabal of the U.S. Census Bureau. 
         At 11:55 a.m. Co-chairman Fraser moved that the committee stand  
         recessed until 1:00 p.m; without objection, it was so ordered.   
         At 1:25 p.m. the committee reconvened.  The committees continued  
         to hear testimony from Marshall Turner, Alfonso Mirabal and Dr.  
         Steve Murdoch. 
         Alan Ware, of the Texas Legislative Council, discussed  
         population projections and communities of interest. 
         The following people testified on Redistricting: 
              Blum, Edward (Campaign for a Color Blind America Legal  
              Defense & Educ. Found.), Houston                                                                                                
                   Campos, Marc (self), Houston                                    
                   Coleman, Rep. Garnet (House District 147), Houston                                                             
                   Damiani, Stephen (self), Houston                                                                                           
                   Danburg, Rep. Debra (House District 137), Houston                 
              Denton, Frank (Conroe Lake Conroe Area Chamber of  
         Commerce), Conroe      
              Eschback, Karl (self), Houston                                    
              Garabay, Cruz (State Young Tejano Democrats), Houston             
              Korbel, George (self), Austin                                     
              Llamas Rodriguez, Olga (Latina P.A.C.), Houston                   
              Mata, Johnny (League of United Latin American Citizens),  
              Milburn, Ruth (Common Cause), Houston                         
              Mindiola, Tatcho (self), Houston                              
              Noriega, Rep. Rick (House District 145), Houston              
              Olivo, Rep. Dora (House District 27), Rosenberg               
              Pate, A.J. (self), Houston                                       
              Reyes, Frumencio (self), Houston                                 
              Swartz, Barbara (League of Women Voters of Houston),  
              Webster Sr., Wade (self), Houston                                
              Wilkerson Jr., Walter (Montgomery County Republican Party),  
         Conroe                                       Williams, Rep.  
         Thomas (House District 15), The Woodlands 
              Yarbrough, Ken (House District 138), Houston       
              Zbranek, Rep. Zeb (House District 20), Winnie           
            Registering, but not testifying:                                 
              Deshotel, Rep. Joe (House District 22), Beaumont        
              Gentry, Fran (NAACP), Houston                           
              Tillinghast, Scott (self), Houston                      
              Wood, Jerry (City of Houston), Houston                  
         The Co-Chairman Gallegos moved that the public testimony be  
         closed; without objection, it was so ordered.   
         There being no further business, at 4:20 p.m. Co-chairman Fraser  
         moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of  
         the chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Troy Fraser, Co-Chair 
         Senator Mario Gallegos, Jr., Co-Chair 
         Tara Cowen Rejino, Clerk