Wednesday, February 16, 2000 
                                     1:30 p.m. 
                                   Senate Chamber 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Redistricting  
         was held on Wednesday, February 16, 2000, in the Senate Chamber  
         at Austin, Texas. 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Troy Fraser                     Senator Robert Duncan 
         Senator Mario Gallegos, Jr. 
         Senator Gonzalo Barrientos 
         Senator Mike Jackson 
         Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr. 
         Senator Frank Madla 
         Senator Jane Nelson 
         Senator Steve Ogden 
         Senator Florence Shapiro 
         Senator Royce West 
         The chair called the meeting to order at 1:40 p.m.  There being  
         a quorum present, the following business was transacted:   
         Co-chairman Fraser moved approval of the minutes from the  
         February 9, 2000 meeting in Abilene.  The minutes were approved  
         without objection. 
         Co-chairman Fraser and Co-chairman Gallegos thanked everyone for  
         coming to Austin for the hearing. 
         Gaye Hume and Tricia Tingle from the U.S. Department of Justice  
         spoke on guidelines for Redistricting Pre-clearance under  
         Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act. 
         The following people testified on Redistricting: 
         Leslie Fields, representing TX State Conference of NAACP  
         Gerald Hebert, representing TX Democratic Party   
         George Korbel, representing self   
         Julia Marsden, representing League of Women Voters of Texas  
         Nina Perales, representing Mexican American Legal Defense and  
         Educational Fund, Inc.   
         David Southern, representing City of Granbury, registered but  
         did not testify. 
         There being no further business, at 4:45 p.m. Co-chair Fraser  
         moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of  
         the chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Troy Fraser, Co-chair 
         Senator Mario Gallegos, Co-chair 
         Tara Cowen Rejino, Clerk