Subcommittee on 9-1-1 Emergency Communications 
                              Tuesday, March 21, 2000 
                                     10:00 a.m. 
                           Capitol Extension, Room E1.012 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Economic  
         Development, Subcommittee on 9-1-1 Emergency Communications, was  
         held on Tuesday, March 21, 2000, in the Capitol Extension, Room  
         E1.012, at Austin, Texas. 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Frank Madla, Chairman           Senator Troy Fraser 
         Senator John Whitmire 
         Chairman Madla called the meeting to order at 10:19 a.m.  The  
         following business was transacted: 
         The Chairman announced that the subcommittee would be hearing  
         invited testimony on 9-1-1 Emergency Communications from a four  
         member panel.  The panel consisted of the following: 
              James D. Goerke, Executive Director, Texas Commission on  
                   State Emergency Communications 
              Laverne Hogan, Executive Director, Greater Harris County  
         9-1-1 Emergency Network 
              Bill Munn, Executive Director, Tarrant County 9-1-1  
              Joe Hanna, Captain, Richardson Police Department  
         Upon completion of the panelists' testimony and response to  
         members' questions, the Chairman read the names of those  
         witnesses registering but not testifying before the  
         Chairman Madla advised that information would be forthcoming on  
         future hearings.   
         There being no further business, at 12:27 p.m. Senator Madla  
         moved that the subcommittee stand recessed subject to the call  
         of the chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Frank Madla, Chairman 
         Rosemary L. Brown, Clerk