Friday, May 21, 1999 
                                  8:30 am 
    Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.11, a  
    public hearing of the Senate Committee on Administration was held  
    on Friday, May 21, 1999 in 2E.14, at Austin, Texas.   
    MEMBERS PRESENT:                             MEMBERS ABSENT: 
    Senator Chris Harris                         Senator Florence  
    Senator Frank Madla 
    Senator Rodney Ellis 
    Senator John Whitmire 
    The Chair called the meeting to order at 10:40 am.  There being a  
    quorum present, the following business was transacted.   
    The following members arrived after the roll was called:   
    Senator Florence Shapiro 
    Senator Harris asked the members to look at the minutes from the  
    May 13, May 14 and May 18, 1999Administration Committee meeting.   
    Senator Ellis moved adoption of the minutes.  Without objection the  
    minutes were approved. 
    Senator Harris asked if there were any questions or discussion on  
    the list of  bills, before the committee, that had been   
    recommended for the Local and Uncontested Calendar.  There was  
    discussion.  Senator Madla had a three part motion with the first  
    part  being not to certify HB 1342 by Moncrief, HB 2045 by  
    Armbrister, HB 2491 by Wentworth,  HB 3041 by Sibley, HB 3120 by  
    Haywood, and  HB 3456 by Carona.  The second part was to certify  
    all the (57) bills on the list, in front of the committee, that had  
    an amendment or a committee substitute for the Local Calendar on  
    Monday, May 24, 1999 at 8:30 am.  The third part was to certify all  
    remaining (304)  bills on the list, before the committee, for the  
    Local Calendar on Wednesday, May 26, 1999 at 10:30 am.  (List of  
    bills attached)           
    There being no further business, at 11:30 am Senator Harris moved  
    that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the Chair.   
    Without objection, it was so ordered.   
    Senator Chris Harris, Chair 
    Myra J. Schmitt, Clerk