Thursday, April 22, 1999 
                                    7:30 am 
        Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
        11.11, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on  
        Administration was held on Thursday, April 22, 1999 in E1.714,  
        at Austin, Texas.   
        MEMBERS PRESENT:                         MEMBERS ABSENT: 
        Senator Chris Harris                     Senator Rodney Ellis 
        Senator Florence Shapiro                 Senator Frank Madla 
        Senator John Whitmire 
        The Chair called the meeting to order at 7:35 am.  There being  
        a quorum present, the following business was transacted.   
        The following members arrived after the roll was called:   
        Senator Rodney Ellis 
        Senator Frank Madla 
        Senator Harris asked the members to look at the minutes from  
        the April 20, 1999 Administration Committee meeting.  Senator  
        Whitmire moved adoption of the minutes.  Without objection the  
        minutes were adopted. 
        Senator Harris asked the Committee to look at their list of  
        bills recommended for placement on the Local and Uncontested  
        Calendar.  He asked  them to note that SB 1153 and SB 1382 had  
        passed on the floor on April 20, 199 and SB 1121 and  SB 1352  
        passed on the floor on April 21, 1999.  He asked if there were  
        any questions or discussion on any of  the other bills.  There  
        was discussion.  Senator Ellis moved to certify the bills on  
        the list with the exception of the bills already passed on the  
        floor and  SB 806, SB 1066, SB 1127,  and SB 1433  left pending  
        for further explanation along with SB 724, SB 1187, SB 1279 and  
        SB 1481 that were not certified.  The motion carried with a  
        vote of 5 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 0 absent.   
        There being no further business, at 8:10 am Senator Harris  
        moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of  
        the Chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
        Senator Chris Harris, Chair 
        Myra J. Schmitt, Clerk