Thursday, March 25, 1999 
                                     8:00 am 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.11, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on  
         Administration was held on Thursday, March 25, 1999 in E1.714,  
         at Austin, Texas.   
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Chris Harris                    Senator Florence  
         Senator Frank Madla                     Senator John Whitmire 
         Senator Rodney Ellis 
         The Chair called the meeting to order at 8:10 am.  There being  
         a quorum present, the following business was transacted.   
         The following members arrived after the roll was called:   
         Senator Harris directed the members to the minutes from the  
         March  23, 1999 Administration Committee  meeting.  Senator  
         Madla moved adoption.  There being no objections the minutes  
         were adopted. 
         Senator Harris asked if there was any discussion or questions  
         on the bills recommended for placement on the Local and  
         Uncontested Calendar.  There was discussion.  Senator Madla  
         moved to certify all the bills on the list with the exception  
         of SB 884, to be left pending for additional information,  and  
         SB 1554 pulled by the author Senator Ellis.  The motion  
         carried with a vote of 3 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting,  
         and 0 absent.   
         There was discussion of  the deadline for the next Local  
         Calendar.  It was decided to change the deadline from Tuesday,  
         March 30, 1999 at 10:00 am to Wednesday, March 31, 1999 at  
         4:00 pm.  The next meeting of the Administration Committee  
         will be Tuesday, April 6, 1999. 
         There being no further business, at 8:20 am Senator Harris  
         moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of  
         the Chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Chris Harris, Chair 
         Myra J. Schmitt, Clerk