The House Committee on County Affairs 
         76th Legislature 
         March 21, 2000 
         1:30 p.m. 
         Capitol Extension, E2.036 
         Pursuant to a notice posted on March 1, 2000, the House  
         Committee on County Affairs met in a public hearing and was  
         called to order by the chair, Representative Ramsay, at 1:30  
         The roll was answered as follows: 
         Present:  Representatives Ramsay; Lewis, Glenn; Brown, Betty;  
                   Farabee; Krusee; Salinas (6). 
         Absent:   Representatives Chisum; Hilderbran; Swinford (3). 
         A quorum was present. 
         The Chair made opening remarks and welcomed the attendees.  He  
         encouraged the audience to be involved in the interim hearings  
         and to also include their local constituency to attend and offer  
         testimony as well. 
         The Chair called upon the following witnesses who were invited  
         to give testimony on the Texas Commission on Jail Standards: 
              Jack Crump, Executive Director, Texas Commission on Jail  
              Debbie Fillmore, Deputy Director, Texas Commission on Jail  
              Kim McDonald, State Auditor's Office 
         The Chair recognized Craig Pardue,  representing the Dallas  
         County Commissioners Court, who presented a resolution passed  
         unanimously by the Dallas County Commissioners relating to the  
         subject of Blue Warrant prisoners held in county jails. 
         The Chair then called upon witnesses who were invited to give  
         the committee an overview on the five charges given to the  
         Committee.  The following persons provided oral and written  
              Susan Wendel, Texas Association of Counties 
              Roshunda Farmer, Texas Association of Counties 
              Timothy Brown, Texas Association of Counties 
              Jim Allison, County Judges and Commissioners Association of  
              Donald Lee, Conference of Urban Counties 
         At 3:45 p.m., on the motion of the chair and without objection,  
         the meeting was adjourned subject to the call of the chair. 
         Rep. Ramsay, Chair 
         Missy Warren, Clerk