Friday, April 3, 1998 
                                     9:00 am 
                       Corpus Christi City Council Chamber 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.11, a public hearing of the Senate Interim Committee on  
         Natural Resources was held on Friday, April 3, 1998, at the  
         Corpus Christi City Council Chamber, in Corpus Christi, Texas. 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator J.E. "Buster" Brown             Senator Teel Bivins 
         Senator Tom Haywood                     Senator Jon Lindsay 
         Senator Carlos Truan                    Senator Eddie Lucio,  
                                                 Senator Steve Ogden 
         The Chair called the hearing back to order at 9:15 a.m.   
         Business was conducted without a quorum present as this was a  
         continuation of the hearing held on Friday, January 16, 1998,  
         with a quorum in attendance. 
         Senator Haywood moved that the Minutes from the previous  
         hearing be approved.  There being no objection, it was so  
         Chairman Brown made opening remarks and then the invited  
         testimony began. 
         The following people registered to testify on the interim  
         charge to study the implementation of HB 3019: 
         Jeffrey Saitas, TNRCC 
         Bill Hennings, City of Corpus Christi 
         Gary Gibbs, Central Power and Light 
         Ralph J. Edwards, The Coastal Corporation 
         Ken Kramer, Lone Star Chapter, Sierra Club 
         Patricia Gomez 
         Ramon Alvarez, Environmental Defense Fund 
         Glynn A. Pugh, Corpus Christi Taxpayers 
         The following people registered to testify on the granting of  
         general licensing authority to the Texas Parks and Wildlife  
         Andrew Sansom, Texas Parks and Wildlife Department 
         Tom E. Smith, Seafood Wholesaler's 
         Joe P. Hendrix, MCMI Food Co. 
         Wesley L. Blevins, Calhoun Co. Shrimpers 
         Leslie E. Casterline, Casterline Fish Co. 
         Richard Earl Moore, PISCES 
         C.L. Standley, PISCES 
         Leslie C. Kelly, Saltwater Texas 
         Terry E. Ricks, Texas Seafood 
         Troy B. Williamson, Attorney 
         Kevin Mark Daniels, CCA - Texas 
         Jonette W. Childs, Saltwater Texas Newspaper 
         Janie B. Blevins, Shrimper 
         David O. Chaloupka 
         There being no further business, the Chair recessed the  
         Senator J. E. Brown, Chair 
         Carol K. McGarah, Clerk