RELATIONS, TRADE & TECHNOLOGY, 
                             SUBCOMMITTEE ON FEDERAL 
                            PEACE OFFICERS' AUTHORITY 
                             Tuesday, April 22, 1997 
                                    9:15 a.m. 
                         Capitol Extension, Room E1.016 
                                 Public Hearing 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.11, a  
         public hearing of the Senate Committee on International Relations,  
         Trade & Technology, Subcommittee on Federal Peace Officers'  
         Authority was held on Tuesday, April 22, 1997 in the Capitol  
         Extension, Room E1.016, at Austin, Texas.   
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
              Senator Eliot Shapleigh, Chairman       None 
              Senator Carlos F. Truan             
              Senator Steve Ogden                 
         Chairman Shapleigh called the meeting to order at 9:23 a.m.  and the  
         following business was transacted.  The Chair laid out SB 1255 and  
         recognized the Senate sponsor, Senator Wentworth, to explain the  
         bill.  A discussion followed.  Witnesses testifying and registering  
         on the bill are shown on the  attached list.  Senator Truan moved  
         that SB 1255 be reported favorably to the full Committee.  The  
         motion carried with a vote of 3 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting,  
         and 0 absent.   
         The Chair laid out SB 87 and recognized Senator Truan, in the  
         absence of the Senate sponsor, Senator West, to explain the bill.   
         Senator Truan sent up a committee substitute.  A discussion  
         followed.  Senator Truan moved that SB 87 be left pending; without  
         objection, it was so ordered. 
         There being no further business, at 9:52 a.m. Senator Truan moved  
         that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the Chair.   
         Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Eliot Shapleigh, Chair 
         Carla Buckner, Clerk