Joint Interim Committee on Water Resources 
                           Development and Management 
                           Thursday, February 26, 1998 
                                     9:30 am 
                          El Paso City Council Chamber 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.11, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Natural  
         Resources was held on Thursday, February 26, 1998, at the El  
         Paso City Council Chamber, in El Paso, Texas.   
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Chairman J.E. "Buster" Brown            Representative David  
         Chairman Ron Lewis                      Representative Robert  
         Senator Ken Armbrister 
         Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr.                 
         Senator Carlos Truan                     
         Senator Jeff Wentworth                   
         Representative Robert Cook 
         Representative Gary Walker               
         The Chair called the meeting to order at 9:35 am.  The  
         following business was transacted.   
         Senator Brown moved that the Minutes from the previous hearing  
         be adopted.  There being no objection, it was so ordered. 
         Testimony was taken. 
         The following testified on the implementation of Senate Bill  
         Carlos Ramirez, Mayor, City of El Paso 
         Dr. Elaine Barron, Board Member, TWDB 
         Craig D. Pedersen, Executive Administrator, TWDB 
         Davis Austin, Office of Congressman Silvestre Reyes 
         Dan Pearson, Executive Director, TNRCC 
         Ken Petersen, TNRCC 
         Ed Archuleta, El Paso Public Service Board 
         Jack Hammond, Commissioner, Rio Grande Compact Commission 
         Risher Gilbert, El Paso Water Utilities-Public Service Board 
         Norman Gaume, New Mexico Interstate Stream Commission 
         C.E. Williams, Panhandle Groundwater District 
         Michael Bressler, representing himself 
         At 2:45 pm, on the motion of the chair and without objection,  
         the meeting was adjourned until the next meeting on April 2,  
         1998, in Corpus Christi, Texas. 
         ________________________                ______________________ 
         Senator J.E. Brown, Co-Chair                 Rep. Ron Lewis,  
         Carol McGarah, Clerk