Joint Interim Committee on Water Resources 
                           Development and Management 
                           Thursday, January 15, 1998 
                                    10:00 am 
                          Houston City Council Chamber 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.11, a public hearing of the Joint Interim Committee on  
         Water Resources Development and Management was held on  
         Thursday, January 15, 1998, at the Houston City Council  
         Chamber, in Houston, Texas.   
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Chairman J.E. "Buster" Brown            Senator Carlos Truan 
         Chairman Ron Lewis                      Representative David  
         Senator Ken Armbrister                  Representative Gary  
         Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr.                 
         Senator Jeff Wentworth                   
         Representative Robert Cook 
         Representative Robert Puente             
         The Chair called the meeting to order at 10:05 pm and noted  
         that Senator Lindsay from Houston was also in attendance.  The  
         following business was transacted.   
         Senator Lucio moved that the Minutes from the previous hearing  
         be adopted.  There being no objection, it was so ordered. 
         Opening remarks were made by:  Chairman Brown, Chairman Lewis,  
         Senator Lucio, Senator Armbrister, Senator Lindsay,  
         Representative Puente, Representative Cook 
         The following testified on the implementation of Senate Bill  
         Dan Pearson, Executive Director of TNRCC 
         John M. Baker, Commissioner of TNRCC 
         Tommy Knowles, Texas Water Development Board 
         Larry McKinney, Texas Parks and Wildlife Department 
         Alan J. Rendl, Spirit of 1960 Coalition 
         Jim Oliver, Tarrant County Regional Water District 
         Frederick A. Perrenot, City of Houston 
         Danny F. Vance, Trinity River Authority 
         David Parkhill, Brown and Root, Inc. 
         Anthony Willardson, Western States Water Council 
         Leonard Olson, Texas Water Development Board 
         Haskell L. Simon, Lower Colorado River Valley Federation and  
         Matagorda County Water Council 
         James Kowis, TNRCC 
         Glenda Callaway, Galveston Bay Foundation 
         Chairman Brown announced that the next hearing of the  
         Committee would be in El Paso on February 26, 1998. 
         There being no further business, the Chair recessed the  
         Senator J.E. Brown, Co-Chair       Representative Ron Lewis,  
         Carol K. McGarah, Clerk