Joint Interim Committee on Water Resources 
                           Development and Management 
                           Tuesday, November 18, 1997 
                                     8:30 am 
                        San Antonio City Council Chamber 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.11, a public hearing of the Joint Interim Committee on  
         Water Resources Development and Management was held on Monday,  
         November 17, 1997, at the San Antonio City Council Chamber, in  
         San Antonio, Texas.   
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Chairman J.E. "Buster" Brown            Senator Ken Armbrister 
         Chairman Ron Lewis                      Representative David  
         Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr.                 
         Senator Carlos Truan                     
         Senator Jeff Wentworth 
         Representative Robert Cook 
         Representative Robert Puente 
         Representative Gary Walker               
         The Chair called the hearing to order at 8:42 am.  The  
         following business was transacted.   
         Chairman Lewis, Chairman Brown, Senator Wentworth,  
         Representative Cook, Representative Walker, and Representative  
         Puente made opening remarks. 
         The Honorable Howard Peak, Mayor of San Antonio, made  
         welcoming remarks. 
         Chairman Brown moved that the Minutes from the previous  
         hearing be adopted.  There being no objection, it was so  
         The following testified on the implementation of Senate Bill  
         Ken Petersen, TNRCC 
         Craig D. Pedersen, Executive Administrator, Texas Water  
         Development Board 
         Tommy Knowles, Ph.D., Deputy Executive Administrator, Texas  
         Water Development Board 
         Larry McKinney, Ph.D., Senior Director, Aquatic Resources,  
         Texas Parks & Wildlife Dept. 
         Don Durden, Greater San Antonio Chamber of Commerce 
         Greg Ellis, Edwards Aquifer Authority 
         Juan Patlan, San Antonio Water System 
         Michael Thuss, San Antonio Water System 
         Billy G. Moore, City of San Marcos 
         Kenneth Choffel, HDR Engineering 
         Jack M. Finger, Lawn Maintenance 
         Louis Rosenberg, Bexar Metropolitan Water District 
         Bill Couch, Barton Springs/Edwards Aquifer Conservation  
         Carol Patterson, Edwards Aquifer Authority 
         Allan J. Lange, Lipan-Kickapoo Water Conservation District 
         Dennis Clark, Emerald Underground Water Conservation District 
         Mike Mahoney, Evergreen Underground Water /Conservation  
         The following filed Witness Affirmation forms but did not  
         Russell S. Johnson, San Antonio Water System, City of San  
         Gregory Rothe, San Antonio Water System 
         Terrace W. Stewart, City of Dallas 
         Chairman Brown announced that the next hearing of the  
         committee would be in Houston, Texas, on January 15, 1998. 
         ___________________________   _______________________________ 
         Senator J.E. Brown, Co-Chair  Representative Ron Lewis,  
         Carol K. McGarah, Clerk