Joint Interim Committee on Water Resources 
                           Development and Management 
                           Wednesday, October 29, 1997 
                                     1:00 pm 
                          International Cultural Center 
                          Texas Tech University Campus 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.11, a public hearing of the Joint Interim Committee on  
         Water Resources Development and Management was held on  
         Wednesday, October 29, 1997, at the International Cultural  
         Center, on the Texas Tech University Campus, at Lubbock,  
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Chairman J.E. "Buster" Brown            none 
         Chairman Ron Lewis 
         Senator Ken Armbrister 
         Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr.                 
         Senator Carlos Truan                     
         Senator Jeff Wentworth 
         Representative Robert Cook 
         Representative David Counts 
         Representative Robert Puente 
         Representative Gary Walker 
         The Chair called the meeting to order at 1:00 pm.  The  
         following business was transacted: 
         Chairman Lewis moved adoption of the Minutes.  There being no  
         objection, it was so ordered. 
         Lubbock Mayor Wendy Sitton made welcoming remarks, as did  
         Senator Duncan. 
         Chairman Brown and Chairman Lewis made opening remarks. 
         Ken Petersen with the TNRCC presented information on TNRCC's  
         implementation of SB 1. 
         Charles Geren, Member of the Texas Water Development Board,  
         made remarks regarding the agency's implementation of SB 1. 
         Craig Pedersen, Executive Administrator of the Texas Water  
         Development Board, made remarks on the agency's implementation  
         Dr. Tommy Knowles, TWDB, made remarks about the agency's  
         delineation of regions for water planning in the state. 
         The following testified regarding the implementation of SB 1: 
         Wayne Wyatt, High Plains Underground Water Conservation  
         District # 1 
         Lloyd Urban, Texas Tech University 
         Bruce Blalack, City of Lubbock Water Utilities 
         Jim Jeffers, City Manager of Plainview 
         C.E. Williams, Panhandle Groundwater District 
         John Grant, General Manager of the Colorado River Municipal  
         Water District 
         Dennis Clark, Emerald Underground Water Conservation District 
         Loye Tankersley, Chairman, Irion County Water Conservation  
         Scott Holland, Irion County Water Conservation District 
         Richard Bowers, North Plains Groundwater Conservation District  
         No. Two 
         Greg Ingham, City of Levelland 
         Melanie Barnes, League of Women Voters 
         Glenn Wortham, City of Sweetwater 
         John C. Williams, Canadian River Municipal Water Authority 
         Charles Bowers, Panhandle Groundwater District 
         There being no further business, at 5:30 pm Senator Lucio, Jr.  
         moved that the Committee be adjourned. Without objection, it  
         was so ordered.   
         ______________________   _______________________________ 
         Senator J.E. Brown, Co-Chair       Representative Ron Lewis,  
         Carol McGarah, Clerk