Joint Interim Committee on Water Resources 
                           Development and Management 
                          Wednesday, September 17, 1997 
                                     2:00 pm 
                         Capitol Extension, Room E1.028 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.11, a public hearing of the Joint Interim Committee on  
         Water Resources Development and Management was held on  
         Wednesday, September 17, 1997 in the Capitol Extension, Room  
         E1.028, at Austin, Texas.   
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator J.E. Brown                      Senator Ken Armbrister 
         Representative Ron Lewis                Senator Eddie Lucio 
         Senator Carlos Truan                    Representative David  
         Senator Jeff Wentworth 
         Representative Robert Cook 
         Representative Robert Puente 
         Representative Gary Walker 
         The Chair called the meeting to order at 2:10 pm.  The  
         following business was transacted.   
         Representative Lewis moved the adoption of the Committee  
         Rules.  There being no objection, it was so ordered. 
         Senator Brown made opening remarks. 
         Representative Lewis made opening remarks, including  
         requesting that all River Authorities have a representative at  
         each and every hearing of the committee. 
         Senator Wentworth, Representative Walker, Representative  
         Puente and Representative Cook all made opening remarks. 
         Dan Pearson, Executive Director of the Texas Natural Resource  
         Conservation Commission (TNRCC) made a presentation on the  
         agency's implementation of Senate Bill 1, including the  
         The TNRCC, the Texas Water Development Board (TWDB) and the  
         Texas Parks and Wildlife Department (TPWD) signed a Memorandum  
         of Agreement, which addresses the following areas:  water  
         planning process; data collection and dissemination master  
         plan; state water bank; and groundwater. 
         The TNRCC has four major rulemaking projects underway as part  
         of Senate Bill 1 implementation:  water rights management  
         tools; field citations; development of business plan by new  
         water systems; and water and sewer rate flexibility. 
         Work is underway to develop water availability modeling for  
         each of the state's 22 river basins. 
         Craig Pedersen, Executive Administrator of the Texas Water  
         Development Board made a presentation on the agency's  
         implementation of Senate Bill 1, including the following: 
         The TWDB anticipates having the state's front end decisions  
         addressed by February, 1998 - 6 months ahead of the schedule  
         set by Senate Bill 1. 
         Discussion of the Memorandum of Agreement between the three  
         The TWDB is working in a cooperative manner with local and  
         regional entities regarding the development of rules and  
         Planning on having draft regions and guidelines out by October  
         Working on draft guidelines for:  guidance principles for  
         State Water Plan; establishing criteria for eligibility for  
         financial assistance from the Research and Planning Fund;  
         procedures for adoption of plans by Regional Planning Groups;  
         and guidelines for format of information. 
         Work is ongoing with data collection and dissemination, as  
         well as drought monitoring and response. 
         TWDB will be the lead on monitoring and drought response in  
         working with the Division of Emergency Management. 
         Presentation on the Safe Drinking Water Program, Disadvantaged  
         Communities Program; and Investor Owned Communities Program. 
         Larry McKinney with the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department  
         gave a presentation on that agency's implementation efforts  
         for Senate Bill 1, highlighting the Memorandum of Agreement. 
         After brief closing remarks, Representative Lewis moved that  
         the committee stand in recess. 
         Senator J.E. "Buster" Brown                  Representative  
         Ron Lewis 
         Carol McGarah, Clerk