Monday, March 24, 1997
                                     1:30 pm
                                 Senate Chamber
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 
         11.11, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Senate 
         Select Committee on Tax Reform & Public School Finance was 
         held on Monday, March 24, 1997 in the Senate Chamber at 
         Austin, Texas.  
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT:
         Senator Kenneth Armbrister              Senator John Carona
         Senator Teel Bivins
         Senator Gonzalo Barrientos
         Senator Robert Duncan
         Senator Rodney Ellis
         Senator Troy Fraser
         Senator Chris Harris
         Senator Gregory Luna
         Senator Drew Nixon
         Senator Florence Shapiro
         The Chair called the meeting to order at 1:50 pm.  There being 
         a quorum present, the following business was transacted.  
         The following members arrived after the roll was called: none.
         Also present were Senators Mike Moncrief,  J.E. "Buster" 
         Brown, and Jon Lindsey.
         The Committee continued to hear public testimony regarding 
         repeal or amendment of current exemptions and exclusions which 
         is under consideration for the sole purpose of identifying 
         possible sources of replacement revenue to finance reductions 
         in property taxes.  Witnesses who registered and testified are 
         shown on the attached list.
         At various times during the public testimony Senators 
         Armbrister, Bivins and Duncan were in the Chair.
         Because of the upcoming Easter break, Senator Armbrister 
         announced that the Committee will not meet until Wednesday, 
         April 2, 1997.
         There being no further business, at 5:05 pm Senator Armbrister 

         moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of 
         the Chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.  
         Senator Kenneth Armbrister, Chair
         Jerry Sander, Clerk