SENATE COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION
                            Wednesday, January 22, 1997
                                      9:00 am
                           Capitol Extension, Room E1.012
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 
         11.11, a meeting of the Senate Committee on Education was held 
         on Wednesday, January 22, 1997 in the Capitol Extension, Room 
         E1.012, at Austin, Texas.  
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT:
         Senator Teel Bivins                     None
         Senator Gregory Luna
         Senator Gonzalo Barrientos
         Senator Troy Fraser
         Senator Michael Galloway
         Senator Tom Haywood
         Senator Bill Ratliff
         Senator Eliot Shapleigh
         Senator David Sibley
         Senator Royce West
         Senator Judith Zaffirini
         The Chair called the meeting to order at 9:05 am.  There being a 
         quorum present, the following business was transacted.  
         The Chair introduced committee staff.
         The Chair laid out the committee rules for consideration.  
         Senator Zaffirini offered an amendment to the committee rules.  
         The amendment was unanimously adopted.  There being no further 
         discussion, the committee rules as amended were unanimously 
         The Chair recognized David Anderson and Joe Wisnoski of the 
         Texas Education Agency for a briefing on the issue of school 
         There being no further business, at 10:32 a.m. Senator Bivins 
         moved that the Committee stand recessed.  There being no 
         objection, the committee recessed subject to the call of the 

         Senator Teel Bivins, Chair