House Committee on Energy Resources 
         75th Legislature 
         May 21, 1998 
         10:00 am  
         Capitol Extension, E2.012 
         Pursuant to a notice posted on May 10, 1998, the House  
         Committee on Energy Resources met in a public hearing and was  
         called to order by the Chair, Representative Steve Holzheauser  
         at 10:09 am. 
         The roll was answered as follows:   
         Present:  Representatives Holzheauser; Hawley; Driver;  
                   Merritt; Torres (5). 
         Absent:   Representatives Davis; Moffat; Smithee; Wilson (4). 
         A quorum was present. 
         The Chair recognized Representative Merritt to observe the  
         recent passing of Shelby Pitts. 
         The Chair recognized Jerry Matthews, Executive Director of the  
         Texas Energy Coordination Council (TECC) to address the  
         committee regarding TECC operations. 
         The Chair recognized Andrew Saleh, representing himself, to  
         discuss third party guarantee financing for the State Energy  
         Conservation Offices' (SECO) Loanstar program. 
         The Chair recognized the following persons representing the  
         Railroad Commission of Texas to testify: 
              Mike Regan, Executive Director; 
              Leslie Savage, Asst. Director of Environmental Services,  
         Oil & Gas Division; 
              Jerry Martin, Director of Rail Safety; 
              Carolyn Cook, Railroad Safety Division; and  
              David Schieck, Director of Oil & Gas Division. 
         At 12:44 pm, on motion of the Chair and without objection, the  
         hearing was adjourned subject to the call of the Chair.