S.R. No. 908
    1-1                           SENATE RESOLUTION
    1-2        WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas takes pride in
    1-3  recognizing Nelda Laney, wife of Texas House Speaker Pete Laney,
    1-4  for her outstanding contributions to the renovation of the Texas
    1-5  Capitol and to the Texas Capitol Restoration Celebration; and
    1-6        WHEREAS, In her role as the wife of a leading public
    1-7  official, Nelda Laney was actively involved in coordinating the
    1-8  renovation and in furnishing the Speaker's offices and apartment
    1-9  in the State Capitol, as well as in serving as Vice-Chair of the
   1-10  Texas Capitol Restoration Celebration; and
   1-11        WHEREAS, After an extensive five-year restoration, the
   1-12  Capitol was rededicated amid much ceremony on April 21, 1995; the
   1-13  celebrating concluded with a parade, symphony, and fireworks on
   1-14  April 22, and the weekend was a tribute to this historic building
   1-15  and to those who helped renovate it; and
   1-16        WHEREAS, Mrs. Laney's assistance in the renovation and in the
   1-17  rededication ceremonies was invaluable, and her hard work serves
   1-18  as an example of her highly respected resourcefulness, energy, and
   1-19  leadership; and
   1-20        WHEREAS, Nelda Laney keeps a challenging and busy schedule
   1-21  as a woman who is dedicated to both family life and her role as the
   1-22  wife of the Speaker; a graduate of Texas Tech University, she has
   1-23  been married to Speaker Pete Laney for 31 years, and the couple
    2-1  has three children, KaLyn Laney, Jamey Laney Phillips, and
    2-2  J. Pete Laney; and
    2-3        WHEREAS, Her wide range of experience and special talents
    2-4  have made her one of the state's most treasured individuals; over
    2-5  the years she has made numerous public appearances and helped
    2-6  handle district business for her husband; she currently serves as
    2-7  Co-Chair of the Capitol Fund Drive, which raised $5 million for
    2-8  furnishing the Capitol; and
    2-9        WHEREAS, An exemplary and distinguished lady who is well
   2-10  known for her charm and grace, Nelda Laney gives unselfishly of
   2-11  her time and energy to the State of Texas, and her accomplishments
   2-12  and expertise are a source of great pride to its citizens; now,
   2-13  therefore, be it
   2-14        RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,
   2-15  74th Legislature, hereby commend Nelda Laney for her superb
   2-16  leadership and achievements and express appreciation to her for
   2-17  work on the Capitol renovation and the Texas Capitol Restoration
   2-18  Celebration; and, be it further
   2-19        RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her
   2-20  as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.
   2-21                                                 Lucio
   2-22        Armbrister           Henderson           Rosson
   2-23        Barrientos           Leedom              Shapiro
   2-24        Bivins               Luna                Sibley
   2-25        Brown                Madla               Sims
    3-1        Cain                 Moncrief            Truan
    3-2        Ellis                Montford            Turner
    3-3        Gallegos             Nelson              Wentworth
    3-4        Galloway             Nixon               West
    3-5        Harris               Patterson           Whitmire
    3-6        Haywood              Ratliff             Zaffirini
    3-7                   Bullock, President of the Senate
    3-8                               ______________________________________
    3-9                                       President of the Senate
   3-10                                    I hereby certify that the above
   3-11                               Resolution was adopted by the Senate
   3-12                               on May 3, 1995.
   3-13                               ______________________________________
   3-14                                       Secretary of the Senate
   3-15                               ______________________________________
   3-16                                        Member, Texas Senate