H.R. No. 439
                                  R E S O L U T I O N
    1-1        WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is proud to honor
    1-2  our colleague, G. E.  "Buddy" West, and Shirley Jean West on the
    1-3  joyous occasion of their 37th wedding anniversary; and
    1-4        WHEREAS, Representative West and the former Shirley Jean
    1-5  Porter were united in marriage on March 22, 1956, at a ceremony
    1-6  conducted by the Reverend H. E. Gregory at the First Baptist Church
    1-7  in Odessa; and
    1-8        WHEREAS, Their wedding was the culmination of a dream for the
    1-9  childhood sweethearts who had been classmates in school in the
   1-10  community of North Cowden since the age of nine; and
   1-11        WHEREAS, The young couple began going steady on March 20,
   1-12  1953, and became engaged in June 1954; during their senior year of
   1-13  high school, they took a school field trip together to El Paso and
   1-14  were joined on the outing by Buddy's parents; in fact, Buddy and
   1-15  Shirley might have been celebrating their 38th anniversary this
   1-16  year if he hadn't chickened out of the original plan, which was to
   1-17  cross the border during this trip and be married in Mexico; and
   1-18        WHEREAS, He was obviously forgiven for his case of cold feet,
   1-19  as they continued their courtship throughout the school year and
   1-20  were graduated together from Odessa High School in May 1955; and
   1-21        WHEREAS, While making plans for their future, the couple were
   1-22  fortunate to enjoy the complete support of their families; Buddy's
   1-23  parents were so enamored of his intended that he was allowed to use
   1-24  the car only if he had a date with her and, when the groom-to-be
    2-1  was unable to take time off from work to obtain the marriage
    2-2  license, young Shirley was accompanied by her future father-in-law
    2-3  to obtain the needed document; and
    2-4        WHEREAS, The close-knit relationship that Buddy and Shirley
    2-5  shared with their parents has been continued in the next generation
    2-6  of the West family; their marriage has been blessed with three
    2-7  children, Richie West, Lori Bennington, and Ami Satterwhite, and
    2-8  they take great pride in their beloved grandchildren, Kelsee and
    2-9  Shelby West and Scotty Satterwhite; and
   2-10        WHEREAS, For 37 years, this remarkable couple have shared a
   2-11  strong and lasting marriage filled with many happy times and
   2-12  cherished family memories; built on a strong foundation of mutual
   2-13  love, trust, and respect, their life together has been a source of
   2-14  joy and inspiration to the many friends and family of this
   2-15  fortunate pair; now, therefore, be it
   2-16        RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 73rd Texas
   2-17  Legislature hereby congratulate the Honorable G. E. "Buddy" West
   2-18  and Shirley Jean Porter West on the occasion of their 37th wedding
   2-19  anniversary and extend sincere best wishes to them for many more
   2-20  years of continued happiness; and, be it further
   2-21        RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
   2-22  prepared for them as an expression of high regard by the Texas
   2-23  House of Representatives.
   2-24  House of Representatives.
   2-25                                                    Turner of Coleman
   2-26                                                      H.R. No. 439
   2-27  Laney                   Giddings                 Naishtat
    3-1  Alexander               Glaze                    Nieto
    3-2  Allen                   Goodman                  Oakley
    3-3  Alonzo                  Goolsby                  Ogden
    3-4  Alvarado                Granoff                  Oliveira
    3-5  Averitt                 Gray                     Park
    3-6  Bailey                  Greenberg                Parra
    3-7  Berlanga                Grusendorf               Patterson
    3-8  Black                   Gutierrez                Pitts
    3-9  Blackwood               Haggerty                 Place
   3-10  Bomer                   Hamric                   Price
   3-11  Bosse                   Harris                   Puente
   3-12  Brady                   Hartnett                 Rabuck
   3-13  Brimer                  Heflin                   Ramsay
   3-14  Cain                    Hernandez                Rangel
   3-15  Campbell                Hightower                Raymond
   3-16  Carona                  Hilbert                  Rodriguez
   3-17  Carter                  Hilderbran               Romo
   3-18  Chisum                  Hill                     Rudd
   3-19  Clemons                 Hirschi                  Sadler
   3-20  Coleman                 Hochberg                 Saunders
   3-21  Combs                   Holzheauser              Schechter
   3-22  Conley                  Horn                     Seidlits
   3-23  Cook                    Hudson                   Shields
   3-24  Corte                   Hunter of Taylor         Siebert
   3-25  Counts                  Hunter of Nueces         A. Smith of Harris
   3-26  Crabb                   Jackson                  D. Smith of Harris
   3-27  Craddick                James                    Smithee
    4-1  Cuellar of Webb         Johnson                  Solis
    4-2  Cuellar of Hidalgo      Jones of Lubbock         Stiles
    4-3  Culberson               Jones of Dallas          Swinford
    4-4  Danburg                 Junell                   Tallas
    4-5  Davila                  Kamel                    Talton
    4-6  Davis                   Krusee                   Telford
    4-7  De La Garza             Kubiak                   Thompson of Tarrant
    4-8  Dear                    Kuempel                  Thompson of Harris
    4-9  Delco                   Lewis                    Turner of Coleman
   4-10  Delisi                  Linebarger               Turner of Harris
   4-11  Denton                  Longoria                 Uher
   4-12  Driver                  McCall                   Van de Putte
   4-13  Duncan                  McCoulskey               Vowell
   4-14  Dutton                  McDonald                 Williamson
   4-15  Earley                  Madden                   Willis
   4-16  Eckels                  Marchant                 Wilson
   4-17  Edwards                 Martin                   Wolens
   4-18  Erickson                Maxey                    Yarbrough
   4-19  Finnell                 Moffat                   Yost
   4-20  Flores                  Moreno                   Zbranek
   4-21  Gallego                 Mowery
   4-22  Gallegos                Munoz
   4-23                                                      H.R. No. 439
   4-24                                      _______________________________
   4-25                                            Speaker of the House
   4-26        I certify that H.R. No. 439 was adopted by the House on March
   4-27  22, 1993, by a non-record vote.
    5-1                                      _______________________________
    5-2                                          Chief Clerk of the House