MINUTES

SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Monday, April 24, 2023 8:00 AM Capitol Extension, Room E1.016

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Monday, April 24, 2023, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.016, at Austin, Texas.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Senator Donna Campbell, Chair Senator Kevin Sparks, Vice Chair Senator Sarah Eckhardt Senator Bryan Hughes Senator Morgan LaMantia Senator Borris Miles Senator Angela Paxton Senator Drew Springer Senator Carol Alvarado

The chair called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

The following members arrived after the roll was called: Senator Eckhardt, Senator Hughes, and Senator LaMantia.

Vice-Chair Sparks moved that the committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entities: Texas Lottery Commission, Texas Transportation Commission, Parks and Wildlife Commission, Texas A&M University System Board of Regents, Commission on Jail Standards, Executive Council of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy Examiners, Governing Board of the Texas Civil Commitment Office, State Commission on Judicial Conduct, Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board, Texas Real Estate Commission, and the Texas State Board of Public Accountancy. The motion carried with a record vote of 8

Senate Committee on Nominations

Minutes Monday, April 24, 2023 Page 2

ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent. Senator Eckhardt, Senator Hughes, and Senator LaMantia submitted motions in writing to be shown voting aye. This did not change the outcome of the vote. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Birdwell to introduce his constituent Mr. Curtis Cleveland, who has been reappointed to the Texas State Technical College System Board of Regents.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Schwertner to introduce his constituent Mr. James Benham, who has been reappointed to the Texas Southern University Board of Regents.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Kolkhorst to introduce her constituent Mr. Steven Alvis, who has been appointed to the Texas Transportation Commission.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Flores to introduce his constituent Mr. Richard Eastland, who has been appointed to the Upper Guadalupe River Authority.

Chair Campbell recognized Vice-Chair Sparks, on behalf of Senator Whitmire, to introduce his constituent, Mr. Brandon Simmons, who has been appointed to the Texas Southern University Board of Regents.

Mr. Brandon Simmons made an opening statement. Chair Campbell, Vice-Chair Sparks, and Senator Miles offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell recognized Vice-Chair Sparks, on behalf of Senator Whitmire, to introduce his constituent, Ms. Beth Madison, who has been reappointed to the University of Houston System Board of Regents.

Ms. Beth Madison made an opening statement. Chair Campbell and Senator Miles offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Mr. James Benham made an opening statement. Chair Campbell and Senator Miles offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Mr. Steven Alvis made an opening statement. Chair Campbell offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Mr. Richard Eastland made an opening statement. Chair Campbell offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Senate Committee on Nominations

Minutes Monday, April 24, 2023 Page 3

Mr. Curtis Cleveland made an opening statement. Chair Campbell and Vice-Chair Sparks offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Eckhardt to introduce her constituent Mr. Robert Gauntt, who has been appointed to the University of Texas System Board of Regents.

Mr. Robert Gauntt made an opening statement. Chair Campbell and Senator Miles offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell recognized Vice-Chair Sparks to introduce his constituent Mr. Tim Culp, who has been appointed to the Texas Tech University System Board of Regents.

Mr. Culp made an opening statement. Chair Campbell and Vice-Chair Sparks offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Public Testimony was closed.

Senator Miles made a motion to sever the nomination of Dr. Richard Johnson to be a member of the Texas Southern University Board of Regents.

Vice-Chair Sparks moved that the committee vote to approve the non-severed nominations of the individuals to the following entities: Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas Oversight Committee, School Land Board, Texas Industrialized Building Code Council, Texas Southern University Board of Regents, Texas State Technical College System Board of Regents, Texas Tech University System Board of Regents, Texas Transportation Commission, University of Houston System Board of Regents, University of Texas System Board of Regents, and Upper Guadalupe River Authority. The motion carried with a record vote of 8 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent.

Vice-Chair Sparks moved that the committee vote to approve the nomination of Dr. Richard Johnson to be a member of the Texas Southern University Board of Regents. The motion carried with a record vote of 5 ayes, 3 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent.

There being no further business, at 9:32 a.m., Vice-Chair Sparks moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair, without objection, it was so ordered.

Senate Committee on Nominations

Minutes Monday, April 24, 2023 Page 4

Senator Donna Campbell, M.D., Chair
Robert Haley, Clerk