#### **MINUTES**

## SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Monday, March 13, 2023 9:00 AM Betty King Committee Room

\*\*\*\*

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Monday, March 13, 2023, in the Betty King Committee Room at Austin, Texas.

\*\*\*\*

#### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Senator Drew Springer

### **MEMBERS ABSENT:**

Senator Donna Campbell, Chair Senator Kevin Sparks, Vice Chair Senator Carol Alvarado Senator Bryan Hughes Senator Morgan LaMantia Senator Borris Miles Senator Angela Paxton Senator Sarah Eckhardt

\*\*\*\*

The chair called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

The following members arrived after the roll was called: Senator Alvarado and Senator Hughes.

Vice-Chair Sparks moved that the committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entities: Office of the Secretary of State, Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation, Texas Department of Insurance, Texas Workforce Commission, Commissioner of the Department of Family and Protective Services, Director of the Office of Community-Based Care Transition, Office of Injured Employee Counsel, Office of Public Utility Counsel, Public Safety Commission, Texas Water Development Board, State Bar of Texas, District Attorney, Sabine and San Augustine Counties, District Attorney, 34<sup>th</sup> Judicial District, Culberson, Hudspeth, and El Paso Counties, District Attorney, 110<sup>th</sup> Judicial District,

## **Senate Committee on Nominations**

Minutes Monday, March 13, 2023 Page 2

Briscoe, Dickens, Floyd, and Motley Counties, Statewide Health Coordinating Council, Texas Health Services Authority Board of Directors, Jefferson and Orange County Board of Pilot Commissioners, 162<sup>nd</sup> Judicial District Court, Dallas County, 470<sup>th</sup> Judicial District Court, Collin County, 474th Judicial District Court, McLennan County, 475th Judicial District Court, Smith County, 480<sup>th</sup> Judicial District Court, Williamson County, 483<sup>rd</sup> Judicial District Court, Hays County, Criminal District Court No.2, Dallas County, Criminal District Court No.3, Tarrant County, Texas Judicial Council, Judicial Districts Board, Court of Appeals for the Fifth Court of Appeals District, Court of Appeals for the Sixth Court of Appeals District, Texas Mutual Insurance Company Board of Directors, Administrative Judicial Region, First, Administrative Judicial Region, Second, Administrative Judicial Region, Third, Administrative Judicial Region, Fourth, Administrative Judicial Region, Eighth, Administrative Judicial Region, Tenth, Administrative Judicial Region, Eleventh, State Commission on Judicial Conduct, Texas Animal Health Commission, Texas Board of Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors, Texas Commission on the Arts, Texas County and District Retirement System Board of Trustees, Texas Economic Development Corporation Board of Directors, and TexNet Technical Advisory Committee. The motion carried with a record vote of 8 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent. Senator Alvarado and Senator Hughes both submitted motions in writing to be shown voting aye. This did not change the outcome of the vote. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Whitmire to introduce his constituent Colonel Kevin Lilly, who has been reappointed to the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Hancock to introduce his constituent Major General Thomas Suelzer , who has been appointed as the Adjutant General of Texas.

Chair Campbell recognized Vice-Chair Sparks, on behalf of Senator Huffman, to introduce her constituent John Rutherford, who has been appointed to the Employees Retirement System of Texas Board of Trustees.

Chair Campbell recognized Vice-Chair Sparks, on behalf of Senator Huffman, to introduce her constituent Dr. Sandra Criner, who has been reappointed to the State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners.

Chair Campbell recognized Vice-Chair Sparks, on behalf of Senator Middleton, to introduce his constituent Marsha Moberley, who has been appointed to the Board of Pardons and Paroles.

Colonel Kevin Lilly made an opening statement. Chair Campbell and Senator Alvarado offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

## **Senate Committee on Nominations**

Minutes Monday, March 13, 2023 Page 3

Mr. John Rutherford made an opening statement. Chair Campbell, Senator Alvarado, and Senator Hughes offered questions and comments. One witness card was submitted registering a position only in support of Mr. Rutherford's nomination. See attached witness list.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Hughes to introduce his constituent Brian Long, who has been reappointed to the Board of Pardons and Paroles.

Mr. Brian Long made an opening statement. Chair Campbell and Senator Springer offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Dr. Sandra Criner made an opening statement. Chair Campbell and Senator Springer offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Mrs. Marsha Moberley made an opening statement. Chair Campbell and Vice-Chair Sparks offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Major General Thomas Suelzer made an opening statement. Chair Campbell, Senator Miles, and Senator LaMantia offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell passed the gavel to Vice-Chair Sparks, who assumed the chair.

Vice-Chair Sparks recognized Chair Campbell to introduce her constituent Kristofer Monson, who has been reappointed as the Chief Administrative Law Judge at the State Office of Administrative Hearings. Mr. Monson made an opening statement. Chair Campbell offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Vice-Chair Sparks recognized Chair Campbell to introduce her constituent Craig Hester, who has been reappointed, by the Supreme Court of Texas, to the Employees Retirement System of Texas Board of Trustees. Mr. Hester made an opening statement. Chair Campbell offered questions and comments. One witness card was submitted registering a position only in support of Mr. Hester's nomination. See attached witness list.

Vice-Chair Sparks recognized Chair Campbell to introduce her constituent Dr. Steve Golla, who has been appointed to the State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners. Dr. Golla made an opening statement. Chair Campbell offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Vice-Chair Sparks returned the gavel to Chair Campbell.

# **Senate Committee on Nominations**

Minutes Monday, March 13, 2023 Page 4

Chair Campbell recognized Vice-Chair Sparks to introduce his constituent Elodia Brito, who has been reappointed to the Board of Pardons and Paroles. Mrs. Brito made an opening statement. Chair Campbell offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell announced that the nominees would be left pending before the committee.

There being no further business, at 10:36 a.m., Vice-Chair Sparks moved that the committee
stand recessed subject to the call of the chair; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Donna Campbell, M.D., Chair	
Schator Doma Campoen, W.D., Chan	
Brandon Gaieton, Clerk	