(In the Senate - Received from the House April 26, 2021; May 6, 2021, read first time and referred to Committee on Local Government; May 22, 2021, reported favorably by the following vote: Yeas 7, Nays 0; May 22, 2021, sent to printer.) 1-1 1-2 1-3 1-4

COMMITTEE VOTE 1-6

1-7		Yea	Nay	Absent	PNV
1-8	Bettencourt	X			
1-9	Menéndez	X			
1-10	Eckhardt			X	
1-11	Gutierrez			X	
1-12	Hall	X			
1-13	Nichols	X			
1-14	Paxton	X			
1-15	Springer	X			
1-16	Zaffirini	X			

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED AN ACT

relating to the powers of and election to the board of directors of the Nacogdoches County Hospital District.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:

SECTION 1. Section 1069.051, Special District Local Laws Code, is amended by amending Subsection (b) and adding Subsection (c) to read as follows:

<u>Directors</u> [Unless four-year terms are established under (b) .081, Health and Safety Code: [(1) directors] serve staggered <u>four-year</u> [two-year] Section

1-27 1-28 terms<u>.</u>

1-17

1-18

1-19

1-20

1-21 1-22 1-23

1-24

1-25

1-26

1-29 1-30 1-31 1-32 1-33

1-34 1-35

1-36 1-37 1-38

1-39

1-40

1-41

1-42 1-43

1-44

1-45

1-46 1-47

1-48 1-49

1-50

(c) An [; and [(2) an] election shall be held in each even-numbered year [annually] on the November [May] uniform election date[; or another date authorized by law;] to elect the appropriate number of directors.

Section 1069.209(a), Special District Local Laws Code, is amended to read as follows:

- (a) The board shall select one or more banks <u>inside or outside</u> $[\frac{in}{in}]$ the district to serve as a depository for district money.
- (a) At the election of the board of directors of SECTION 3. the Nacogdoches County Hospital District scheduled to be held in November 2022, all board member positions will be up for election. The terms of the directors serving immediately before the date of the election expire on the date a majority of the directors elected at the November 2022 election have qualified for office.
- The members of the board of directors elected in (b) November 2022 under Subsection (a) of this section shall draw lots to determine which four directors shall serve four-year terms and which three directors shall serve two-year terms.
 - Successor directors shall serve four-year terms. SECTION 4. This Act takes effect January 1, 2022.

* * * * * 1-51