MINUTES

SENATE COMMITTEE ON VETERAN AFFAIRS & BORDER SECURITY

Wednesday, May 3, 2017 1:30 PM or upon adjournment Betty King Committee Room

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Veteran Affairs & Border Security was held on Wednesday, May 3, 2017, in the Betty King Committee Room at Austin, Texas.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

MEMBERS ABSENT:

None

Senator Donna Campbell, Chair Senator Don Huffines, Vice Chair Senator Dawn Buckingham Senator Bob Hall Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr. Senator José Rodríguez Senator Carlos Uresti

The chair called the meeting to order at 7:08 PM. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

The following members arrived after the roll was called: Senator Buckingham.

The Chair recognized Committee Director of the Veteran Affairs and Border Committee, James Crabtree, to lead the committee in the pledges of allegiance to the United States and Texas flags.

Senator Huffines moved adoption of the minutes from the previous hearing held on April 26, 2017; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Huffines assumed the chair.

The chair laid out HB 377 and recognized the Senate sponsor, Senator Campbell, to explain the bill.

Witnesses testifying and registering on the bill are shown on the attached list.

The chair moved that the public testimony be closed; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Huffines moved that HB 377 be left pending; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Campbell resumed the chair.

The chair laid out HB 846 and recognized the Senate sponsor, Senator Menéndez, to explain the bill.

Witnesses testifying and registering on the bill are shown on the attached list.

The chair moved that the public testimony be closed; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Campbell moved that HB 846 be left pending; without objection, it was so ordered.

There being no further business, at 7:45 PM Senator Campbell moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Donna Campbell, Chair

Carrie Smith, Clerk