MINUTES

SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Thursday, May 11, 2017 8:00 AM Betty King Committee Room

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Thursday, May 11, 2017, in the Betty King Committee Room at Austin, Texas.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Senator Brian Birdwell, Chair Senator Kirk Watson, Vice Chair Senator Dawn Buckingham Senator Craig Estes Senator José Menéndez Senator Borris Miles Senator Van Taylor None

The chair called the meeting to order at 8:01 a.m. There not being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

The following members arrived after the roll was called: Vice-Chairman Watson, Senator Estes, Senator Menéndez, and Senator Miles. A quorum was established.

Senator Buckingham moved adoption of the minutes from the previous hearings held on May 1, 2017, May 2, 2017, and May 4, 2017; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Taylor moved that the committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entities: Cameron County Regional Mobility Authority, Camino Real Regional Mobility Authority, Department of Information Resources, Hidalgo County Regional Mobility Authority, Interstate Commission for Adult Offender Supervision, North East Texas Regional Mobility Authority, Office of Public Utility Counsel, Risk Management Board for the State

Senate Committee on Nominations

Minutes Thursday, May 11, 2017 Page 2

Office of Risk Management, Sabine River Compact Administration, School Land Board, State Bar of Texas, State Office of Administrative Hearings, State Preservation Board, State Securities Board, Stephen F. Austin State University Board of Regents, Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board, Texas Board of Criminal Justice, Texas Board of Professional Land Surveying, Texas Crime Stoppers Council, Texas Facilities Commission, Texas Health Services Authority Board of Directors, and Texas Municipal Retirement System Board of Trustees. The motion carried with a record vote of 7 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 0 absent. Vice-Chairman Watson, Senator Estes, and Senator Miles submitted motions in writing to be shown voting aye; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Hinojosa was recognized to introduce The Honorable Mary K. Medary, who has been nominated as the Presiding Judge of the Fifth Administrative Judicial Region, to the committee.

Senator Burton was recognized to introduce The Honorable Mark T. Pittman, who has been nominated as Justice of the Second Court of Appeals, Place 6, to the committee.

Senator Creighton was recognized to introduce Mrs. Kathleen T. Jackson, who has been renominated to the Texas Water Development Board, to the committee.

Mrs. Jackson made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following members: Senator Taylor, Senator Menéndez, Chairman Birdwell, and Vice-Chairman Watson.

Justice Pittman made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following member, Chairman Birdwell.

Judge Medary made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following members: Chairman Birdwell and Senator Miles.

Judge Hall made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following member, Chairman Birdwell.

Upon the completion of questions, no public testimony was offered. Senator Birdwell read into the record two individuals who had submitted a position for specific nominees. (See attached witness list).

Chairman Birdwell announced that all appearing and non-appearing nominees would be left pending before the committee.

Senate Committee on Nominations

Minutes Thursday, May 11, 2017 Page 3

There being no further business, at 10:33 a.m., Senator Buckingham moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair; without objection, it was so ordered.	
,	•
Senator Brian Birdwell, Chair	
5014001 211011 2110 H 611, 611411	
John Ryan Isaacson, Clerk	