#### MINUTES

# SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Thursday, March 9, 2017 8:00 AM Betty King Committee Room

\*\*\*\*

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Thursday, March 9, 2017, in the Betty King Committee Room at Austin, Texas.

\*\*\*\*

#### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

### **MEMBERS ABSENT:**

Senator Brian Birdwell, Chair Senator Kirk Watson, Vice Chair Senator Dawn Buckingham Senator Craig Estes Senator José Menéndez Senator Borris Miles Senator Van Taylor None

\*\*\*\*

The chair called the meeting to order at 8:04 a.m. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

The following members arrived after the roll was called: Senator Menéndez and Senator Estes.

Senator Buckingham moved adoption of the minutes from the previous hearing held on March 2, 2017; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Watson moved that the committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entities: Chair of the State Board of Education, Commissioner of Education, Council on Cardiovascular Disease and Stroke, Gulf Coast Waste Disposal Authority Board of Directors, and Prepaid Higher Education Tuition Board. The motion carried with a record vote of 6 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent. Senator Estes submitted a motion in writing to be shown voting aye; without objection, it was so ordered.

## **Senate Committee on Nominations**

Minutes Thursday, March 9, 2017 Page 2

Chairman Birdwell recognized Senator Huffman to introduce Dr. Josh McGee, who has been nominated to serve on the State Pension Review Board.

Chairman Birdwell recognized Senator Buckingham to introduce Mr. Ira Craig Hester, who has been nominated to serve on the Employees Retirement System of Texas Board of Trustees. When Senator Menéndez arrived, he was recognized to introduce Ms. Jeanie Wyatt, who has also been nominated to serve on the Employees Retirement System of Texas Board of Trustees.

Dr. Josh McGee made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following members: Senator Estes, Vice-Chairman Watson, Chairman Birdwell, Senator Huffman, Senator Menéndez, Senator Miles, and Senator Taylor.

Mr. Ira Craig Hester and Ms. Jeanie Wyatt both made opening statements. Questions and comments were offered from the following members: Vice-Chairman Watson, Chairman Birdwell, and Senator Menéndez.

Upon the completion of questions, public testimony was offered against Dr. Josh McGee (see attached witness list).

Chairman Birdwell announced that all appearing and non-appearing nominees would be left pending before the committee.

There being no further business, at 9:48 a.m., Senator Taylor moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Brian Birdwell, Chair	