(In the Senate - Filed March 23, 2017; April 3, 2017, read first time and referred to Committee on Agriculture, Water & Rural 1-2 1-3 Affairs; April 26, 2017, reported favorably by the following vote: 1-4 1-5 Yeas 5, Nays 0; April 26, 2017, sent to printer.) COMMITTEE VOTE 1-6 1-7 Yea Nay Absent PNV 1-8 Perry Х Х 1-9 Rodríguez 1-10 1-11 Creighton Х Х Hall 1-12 Hinojosa Χ Kolkhorst 1-13 Х 1-14 Χ Miles A BILL TO BE ENTITLED 1-15 1-16 AN ACT relating to the board of directors of the Lone Star Groundwater 1-17 1**-**18 Conservation District. 1-19 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS: 1-20 SECTION 1. Sections 6(a) and (c), Chapter 1321, Acts of the 77th Legislature, Regular Session, 2001, are amended to read as 1-21 1-22 1-23 follows: The district is governed by a board of seven elected (a) 1-24 [nine] directors. (c) Permanent directors serve staggered four-year terms. A 1-25 director may not serve more than three full terms. SECTION 2. The heading to Section 7, Chapter 1321, Acts of the 77th Legislature, Regular Session, 2001, is amended to read as 1-26 1-27 1-28 1-29 follows: ELECTION [APPOINTMENT] OF DIRECTORS. 1-30 Sec. 7. SECTION 3. Section 7(a), Chapter 1321, Acts of the 77th 1-31 1-32 Legislature, Regular Session, 2001, is amended to read as follows: 1-33 The members of the board are elected [appointed] as (a) 1-34 follows: 1-35 (1)one director is elected from each of the four county commissioners precincts by the voters of the applicable precinct to be designated as the director whose place number matches the applicable precinct number [the Commissioners Court of 1-36 1-37 1-38 Montgomery County shall appoint two directors]; 1-39 (2) one director is elected by the voters of the 1-40 1-41 district at large to be designated as the director for place number 1-42 five; 1-43 one director is elected from the City of Conroe by (3)the voters of that municipality; and 1 - 441-45 (4) one director is elected from the Woodlands 1-46 Township by the voters of that township [the board of directors of Conservation District shall 1-47 Montgomery County Soil and Water the 1-48 appoint one director; 1-49 [(3) the board of directors of the San Jacinto River 1-50 hall appoint one director; the mayor of the City of Conroe shall appoint one 1-51 [-(4)-1-52 director; 1-53 [<del>(5) the</del> of all of the mayors incorporated ties, other than the City of Conroe, located in whole Montgomery County, jointly shall appoint one director; 1-54 municipalities, <del>in whole or</del> 1-55 in part 1-56 [<del>(6) the</del> -board of trustees of the Woodlands Joint Powers Agency shall appoint one director; 1-57 1-58 [<del>(7)</del> the boards of directors of all of the municipal 1-59 located in whole or in part in Montgomery County utility districts members of the Woodlands Joint Powers Agency and the 1-60 that are not 1-61 district boundaries of which are located primarily to the east  $\mathbf{of}$ 

S.B. No. 2250

1-1

By:

Creighton, Nichols

S.B. No. 2250

Interstate Highway 45 jointly shall appoint one director; and [(8) the boards of directors of all of the municipal 2-1 2-2 utility districts located in whole or in part in Montgomery County 2-3 that are not members of the Woodlands Joint Powers Agency and the 2-4 district boundaries of which are located primarily to the 2-5 west of 2-6

Interstate Highway 45 jointly shall appoint one director]. SECTION 4. Chapter 1321, Acts of the 77th Legislature, 2-7 Regular Session, 2001, is amended by adding Section 7A to read as 2-8 2-9 follows:

2**-**10 2**-**11 Sec. 7A. TEMPORARY PROVISION. (a) A director of the board the Lone Star Groundwater Conservation District who is serving 2-12 on August 31, 2017, shall serve until the director's successor has qualified following the directors' election held on the uniform 2-13 2-14

election date in November 2018. (b) After the November 2018 election, the precinct 1 director, the at-large director, and the director elected by the City of Conroe shall serve a term that expires December 1 of the 2**-**15 2**-**16 2-17 City of Conroe shall serve a term that expires December 1 of the second year after the date of the election and the directors of precincts 2, 3, and 4 and the director elected by the Woodlands Township shall serve a term that expires December 1 of the fourth year after the date of that election. The initial two-year terms of the precinct 1 director, the at-large director, and the director elected by the City of Conroe do not count toward the term limitation provided by Section 6(c) of this Act. (c) This section expires September 1, 2024. SECTION 5. Sections 7(b), (c), (d), and (e), Chapter 1321, Acts of the 77th Legislature, Regular Session, 2001, are repealed. SECTION 6. (a) The legal notice of the intention to introduce this Act, setting forth the general substance of this Act, has been published as provided by law, and the notice and a copy of this Act have been furnished to all persons, agencies, officials, or entities to which they are required to be furnished under Section 59, Article XVI, Texas Constitution, and Chapter 313, 2-18 2-19 2-20 2-21 2-22 2-23 2-24

2**-**25 2**-**26 2-27

2-28 2-29 2-30 2-31 2-32 under Section 59, Article XVI, Texas Constitution, and Chapter 313, 2-33 Government Code. 2-34

(b) The governor, one of the required recipients, has submitted the notice and Act to the Texas Commission on 2-35 2**-**36 2-37 Environmental Quality.

2-38 (c) The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality has filed its recommendations relating to this Act with the governor, the lieutenant governor, and the speaker of the house of 2-39 2-40 2-41 representatives within the required time.

2-42 (d) All requirements of the constitution and laws of this 2-43 state and the rules and procedures of the legislature with respect 2-44 to the notice, introduction, and passage of this Act are fulfilled 2-45 and accomplished. 2-46

2-47

SECTION 7. This Act takes effect September 1, 2017.

\* \* \* \* \*