S.B. No. 1893

## A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

1 AN ACT

- 2 relating to the administrative judicial regions in this state.
- 3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:
- 4 SECTION 1. Subchapter C, Chapter 71, Government Code, is
- 5 amended by adding Section 71.038 to read as follows:
- 6 Sec. 71.038. REGIONAL INFORMATION. The council shall
- 7 collect judicial statistics and other pertinent information from
- 8 the presiding judges of each administrative judicial region in this
- 9 state regarding the amount and character of any business transacted
- 10 by the presiding judges. As a duty of office, the presiding judges
- 11 shall report monthly any information required by the council under
- 12 this section.
- SECTION 2. Effective September 1, 2017, Section 74.042,
- 14 Government Code, is amended by amending Subsections (a), (b), (c),
- 15 and (d) and adding Subsections (k) and (l) to read as follows:
- 16 (a) The state is divided into 11 [nine] administrative
- 17 judicial regions.
- 18 (b) The First Administrative Judicial Region is composed of
- 19 the counties of [Anderson, Bowie, Camp, Cass, Cherokee, ] Collin,
- 20 Dallas, [Delta, Ellis, [Fannin, Franklin,] Grayson, [Gregg,
- 21 Harrison, Henderson, Hopkins, Houston, Hunt, Kaufman, and [Lamar,
- 22 Marion, Morris, Nacogdoches, Panola, Rains, Red River, Rockwall[7
- 23 Rusk, Shelby, Smith, Titus, Upshur, Van Zandt, and Wood].
- 24 (c) The Second Administrative Judicial Region is composed

- 1 of the counties of Angelina, Bastrop, [Brazoria,] Brazos, Burleson,
- 2 Chambers, [Fort Bend, Freestone, Galveston,] Grimes, Hardin,
- 3 [Harris, ] Jasper, Jefferson, Lee, [Leon, ] Liberty, [Limestone,]
- 4 Madison, [Matagorda,] Montgomery, Newton, Orange, Polk,
- 5 [Robertson, Sabine, San Augustine,] San Jacinto, Trinity, Tyler,
- 6 Walker, Waller, and Washington[, and Wharton].
- 7 (d) The Third Administrative Judicial Region is composed of
- 8 the counties of Austin, Bell, Blanco, Bosque, Burnet, Caldwell,
- 9 Colorado, Comal, Comanche, Coryell, Falls, Fayette, Gonzales,
- 10 Guadalupe, Hamilton, Hays, Hill, Lampasas, Lavaca, Llano,
- 11 McLennan, Milam, Navarro, Robertson, San Saba, Travis, and
- 12 Williamson.
- 13 <u>(k) The Tenth Administrative Judicial Region is composed of</u>
- 14 the counties of Anderson, Bowie, Camp, Cass, Cherokee, Delta,
- 15 Fannin, Franklin, Freestone, Gregg, Harrison, Henderson, Hopkins,
- 16 Houston, Hunt, Lamar, Leon, Limestone, Marion, Morris,
- 17 Nacogdoches, Panola, Rains, Red River, Rusk, Sabine, San Augustine,
- 18 Shelby, Smith, Titus, Upshur, Van Zandt, and Wood.
- 19 (1) The Eleventh Administrative Judicial Region is composed
- 20 of the counties of Brazoria, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris,
- 21 Matagorda, and Wharton.
- SECTION 3. Section 74.254(a), Government Code, is amended
- 23 to read as follows:
- 24 (a) The judicial committee for additional resources is
- 25 composed of:
- 26 (1) the chief justice of the supreme court; and
- 27 (2) the [nine] presiding judges of the administrative

- 1 judicial regions.
- 2 SECTION 4. (a) The Tenth and Eleventh Administrative
- 3 Judicial Regions are created on September 1, 2017.
- 4 (b) On September 1, 2017, the governor, with the advice and
- 5 consent of the senate, shall appoint judges to serve as presiding
- 6 judges in the Tenth and Eleventh Administrative Judicial Regions
- 7 and any administrative judicial region in which a vacancy in office
- 8 occurs because the presiding judge of a judicial region is no longer
- 9 qualified to serve as the presiding judge of the region because of
- 10 the composition of the region on that date.
- 11 (c) On September 1, 2017, the county in which a presiding
- 12 judge appointed under Subsection (b) of this section resides shall
- 13 provide adequate quarters for the operation of the applicable
- 14 administrative judicial region.
- 15 (d) Not later than September 1, 2017, the regional presiding
- 16 judges of the First through Ninth Administrative Judicial Regions:
- 17 (1) shall develop and adopt by majority vote budgets
- 18 for the Tenth and Eleventh Administrative Judicial Regions that
- 19 include an assessment for each county included in the area that will
- 20 comprise the new regions; and
- 21 (2) may by majority vote transfer money, as necessary,
- 22 from the existing judicial regions to the Tenth and Eleventh
- 23 Administrative Judicial Regions.
- 24 (e) A judge or associate judge or coordinator assigned or
- 25 appointed to a court in a county included in the First, Second,
- 26 Third, Tenth, or Eleventh Administrative Judicial Region on
- 27 September 1, 2017, continues to serve in that position until

S.B. No. 1893

- 1 removed by the regional presiding judge.
- 2 SECTION 5. Except as otherwise provided by this Act, this
- 3 Act takes effect immediately if it receives a vote of two-thirds of
- 4 all the members elected to each house, as provided by Section 39,
- 5 Article III, Texas Constitution. If this Act does not receive the
- 6 vote necessary for immediate effect, this Act takes effect on the
- 7 91st day after the last day of the legislative session.