RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The citizens of Texas lost a courageous and 2 dedicated law enforcement officer with the death of U.S. Senior 3 Border Patrol Agent Jeremy Michael Wilson on September 21, 2004, at 4 the age of 29; and

5 WHEREAS, Jeremy Wilson was born on July 31, 1975, in 6 Sedro-Woolley, Washington, to Michael and Bonnie Wilson; he was the 7 starting first baseman for the baseball team at Mount Baker High 8 School in Deming, Washington, and he went on to attend Olympic 9 College for two years on a baseball scholarship; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Wilson joined the U.S. Border Patrol in November 10 11 1997 and graduated from the 356th session of the Border Patrol 12 Academy in March of the following year; assigned to the Harlingen Border Patrol Station in the Rio Grande Valley Sector, he and 13 14 another agent lost their lives in the line of duty when their boat capsized in the fast-moving waters of the Rio Grande; in honor of 15 his sacrifice, his name was added to the Texas Peace Officers' 16 Memorial Monument at the Texas State Capitol; and 17

18 WHEREAS, Texans owe an incalculable debt of gratitude to the 19 men and women of law enforcement who risk their lives in our behalf, 20 and Jeremy Wilson's commitment to protecting the safety and 21 well-being of the public will forever be remembered by all those who 22 had the good fortune to know him; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life and exemplary service of

1

U.S. Senior Border Patrol Agent Jeremy Michael Wilson and extend heartfelt sympathy to the members of his family: to his father and stepmother, Mike and Dianna Wilson; to his mother and stepfather, Bonnie and Gary Jaeger; to his half sister, Stefanie, and his half brother, Kelly; to his grandparents, Don and Phyllis Wilson; and to his other relatives and many friends; and, be it further

7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 8 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of 9 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Jeremy 10 Michael Wilson.

Lucio III

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Gonzales of Williamson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1639 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on April 27, 2017.

Chief Clerk of the House