Thompson of Harris (Senate Sponsor - Hughes) H.B. No. 1106 1-1 By: (In the Senate - Received from the House May 1, 2017; May 8, 2017, read first time and referred to Committee on State Affairs; May 15, 2017, reported favorably by the following vote: Yeas 8, Nays 1; May 15, 2017, sent to printer.) 1-2 1-3 1-4 1-5

- 1-6 COMMITTEE VOTE 1-7 Yea Nay Absent PNV 1-8 Huffman Х 1-9 Х Hughes 1-10 1-11 Birdwell Χ Creighton Х 1-12 Estes Х Lucio 1-13 Х Nelson Х 1-14 1**-**15 1**-**16 Schwertner Х Zaffirini Х
  - A BILL TO BE ENTITLED AN ACT

relating to the membership of the Texas Racing Commission. BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS: 1-19 1-20

1-21 SECTION 1. Section 2.02(a), Texas Racing Act (Article 179e, Vernon's Texas Civil Statutes), is amended to read as follows:

1-22 1-23 (a) The commission consists of seven members appointed by 1-24 the governor with the advice and consent of the senate and two ex 1-25 officio members who shall have the right to vote. The ex officio 1-26 members are:

(1) the chairman of the Public Safety Commission or a member of the Public Safety Commission designated by the chairman of the Public Safety Commission; and 1-27 1-28 1-29

1-30 (2) the commissioner of agriculture the or commissioner's [comptroller of public accounts comptroller's] designee. SECTION 2. This Act takes effect September 1, 2017. 1-31 the or 1-32 1-33

1-34

1-17

1-18

\* \* \* \* \*