#### MINUTES

# SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Thursday, March 19, 2015 8:00 AM Betty King Committee Room

\*\*\*\*

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Thursday, March 19, 2015, in the Betty King Committee Room at Austin, Texas.

\*\*\*\*

#### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

### **MEMBERS ABSENT:**

Senator Brian Birdwell, Chair Senator Van Taylor, Vice Chair Senator Konni Burton Senator Craig Estes Senator José Rodríguez Senator Kirk Watson Senator Troy Fraser

\*\*\*\*

The chair called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

The following member arrived after the roll was called: Senator José Rodríguez.

Senator Estes moved adoption of the minutes from the previous hearing held on March 12, 2015; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Burton moved that the committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entities: 26th Judicial District Court, Williamson County, 352nd Judicial District Court, Tarrant County, 400th Judicial District Court, Fort Bend County, 442nd Judicial District Court, Denton County, 443rd Judicial District Court, Ellis County, 50th Judicial District Court, Baylor, Cottle, King, and Knox Counties, 5th Judicial District Court, Bowie and Cass Counties, Administrative Judicial Region, Eighth, Administrative Judicial Region, First, Administrative Judicial Region, Seventh, Administrative Judicial Region, Third, Court of Appeals for the Eighth

## **Senate Committee on Nominations**

Minutes Thursday, March 19, 2015 Page 2

Court of Appeals District, Court of Appeals for the Fifth Court of Appeals District, Court of Appeals for the Fourth Court of Appeals District, Court of Appeals District, Court of Appeals District, Court of Appeals for the Third Court of Appeals District, Court of Appeals for

County, Judicial Compensation Commission, State Bar of Texas, State Commission on Judicial Conduct, and Texas Judicial Council. The motion carried with a record vote of 6 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent.

the Twelfth Court of Appeals District, District Attorney for the 369th Judicial District, Leon

Senator Rodriguez requested to be shown voting aye on all pending nominees; without objection, it was so ordered.

Chairman Birdwell recognized Senator Hall to introduce his constituent, William Elliott, to the committee. Chairman Birdwell recognized Senator Huffman to introduce her constituent, Ronnie Hammonds, to the committee. Chairman Birdwell then recognized Senator Burton to introduce her constituent, Christopher Huckabee, to the committee.

Chairman Birdwell called William Elliott, re-nominated to the North Texas Tollway Authority Board of Directors, to the witness table. Mr. Elliott answered questions from the members of the committee.

Chairman Birdwell called Ronnie Hammonds and Christopher Huckabee, nominated to be Regents on the Texas Tech University System Board of Regents, to the witness table. Mr. Hammonds and Mr. Huckabee answered questions from the members of the committee.

All nominees were left pending before the committee. See attached witness list.

There being no further business, at 9:20 a.m., Chairman Birdwell moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Brian Birdwell, Chair	
Schator Briain Briain on, Chair	
Inga Dedow, Clerk	