H.R. No. 3375

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, @SupremeCourt_Tx justice Don Willett is proving to
2 be a lively and engaging presence on Twitter, 140 characters at a
3 time #sharpwit; and

WHEREAS, @nytimes quotes the American Bar Association 6 @ABAesq as saying that the judicious use of social media is "a 6 valuable tool for public outreach" #nopunintended; and

7 WHEREAS, Known as "the Tweeting Judge," @JusticeWillett has 8 more than 15,000 followers and has shared nearly 16,000 tweets 9 #stepawayfromtheiPhone; and

10 WHEREAS, @JusticeWillett is probably the most prolific judge 11 on Twitter, which even he admits is "like being the tallest munchkin 12 in Oz" #prettylowbar; and

WHEREAS, Embracing a wide range of social media discourse, QusticeWillett tweets everything from family news to Baylor football to cat pictures #adorable; and

16 WHEREAS, @JusticeWillett's highly entertaining tweets can be 17 self-deprecating, gently satirical, or just plain goofy 18 #dogplayingacowbell #nokidding; and

WHEREAS, His Twitter feed has won him notice from the national media and a nomination for the @statesman Social Media Award from the Austin American-Statesman; and

22 WHEREAS, What comes through most strongly is 23 @JusticeWillett's warmth, his deep respect for the law, and his 24 abiding love for #Texas; and

1

H.R. No. 3375

1 WHEREAS, From his charming cartoon avatar to his expertly 2 calibrated jokes, @JusticeWillett has proven himself to be a master 3 of social media; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th
#txlege hereby recognize Justice Don Willett as the Tweeter
Laureate of #Texas; and, be it further

7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 8 prepared for @JusticeWillett as an expression of high regard by the 9 #TexasHouse of Representatives.

Sheets

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Ashby Aycock Bell Bernal Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Craddick Crownover Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farias Farney Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frank Frullo Galindo Geren Giddings Goldman Gonzales

González Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Harless Hernandez Herrero Howard Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson Kacal Keffer Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Landgraf Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Márquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Metcalf Meyer Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Fort Bend Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Naishtat Nevárez Oliveira

Otto Paddie Parker Paul Peña Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Riddle Rinaldi Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheets Sheffield Simmons Simpson Smith Smithee Spitzer Springer Stephenson Stickland Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Turner of Tarrant VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White of Bell White of Tyler Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 3375

H.R. No. 3375

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 3375 was adopted by the House on May 28, 2015, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House