H.R. No. 3334

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The year 2015 marks the 40th anniversary of the end
- 2 of the war in Vietnam, and this occasion provides a fitting
- 3 opportunity to honor the members of the Texas House of
- 4 Representatives who served their country in the U.S. armed forces
- 5 during that conflict; and
- 6 WHEREAS, American military involvement in Vietnam began in
- 7 the 1950s, amid growing fears of Communist expansionism; following
- 8 the division of Vietnam in 1954, U.S. military aid to South Vietnam
- 9 increased significantly, and in 1965, the first American ground
- 10 troops landed in that country; more than 2.5 million members of the
- 11 U.S. military served in Vietnam before the last American combat
- 12 troops were withdrawn in March 1973; in April 1975, the final
- 13 remaining U.S. troops, whose mission had been to guard
- 14 U.S. installations, were evacuated; and
- WHEREAS, Among those who completed tours of duty in country
- 16 during the Vietnam War were State Representatives Wayne Smith, Joe
- 17 Farias, Dan Flynn, and Bill Zedler, and among those who served in
- 18 the military during the Vietnam era were State Representatives
- 19 Jimmie Don Aycock, Charles "Doc" Anderson, Rick Miller, John Raney,
- 20 and Paul Workman; and
- 21 WHEREAS, The ranks of those killed or classified as missing
- 22 in action in the Vietnam War included 3,417 Texans; although there
- 23 is no precise tally of the total number of native Texans who served
- 24 in the conflict, an estimated 500,000 current Texas residents are

H.R. No. 3334

- 1 Vietnam veterans; in honor of all Texans who served and died in the
- 2 Vietnam War, the 79th Texas Legislature passed a resolution
- 3 cosponsored by Senator Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa and Representative
- 4 Wayne Smith, themselves Vietnam veterans, that authorized the
- 5 placement of a monument on the Capitol grounds; the Texas Capitol
- 6 Vietnam Veterans Monument was dedicated on March 29, 2015, in a
- 7 ceremony attended by an estimated 5,000 people; and
- 8 WHEREAS, While we can never fully repay the immense debt of
- 9 gratitude owed to the men and women who served this country in the
- 10 Vietnam War, this monument continues to remind all who pass by of
- 11 their valor, patriotism, and unwavering devotion to duty; now,
- 12 therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 84th Texas
- 14 Legislature hereby honor the Vietnam veterans who are members of
- 15 this body and express heartfelt appreciation to all veterans who
- 16 served during the Vietnam War.

King of Taylor

H.R. No. 3334

Straus González Otto Allen Guerra Paddie Alonzo Parker Guillen Alvarado Gutierrez Paul Anchia Harless Peña Anderson of Dallas Phelan Hernandez Anderson of McLennan Phillips Herrero Ashby Howard Pickett Aycock Huberty Price Bell Hughes Raney Raymond Bernal Hunter Blanco Isaac Reynolds Bohac Israel Riddle Bonnen of Brazoria Johnson Rinaldi Bonnen of Galveston Kacal Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Burkett Keffer Keough Burns Romero, Jr. King of Hemphill Burrows Rose King of Parker King of Taylor King of Uvalde Button Sanford Canales Schaefer Schofield Capriglione Clardy Klick Schubert Coleman Koop Shaheen Collier Krause Sheets Sheffield Cook Kuempel Simmons Craddick Landgraf Simpson Crownover Larson Laubenberg Cyrier Smith Leach Smithee Dale Darby Longoria Spitzer Davis of Dallas Springer Lozano Davis of Harris Lucio III Stephenson Deshotel Márquez Stickland Dukes Martinez Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Dutton Martinez Fischer Elkins McClendon Tinderholt Faircloth Metcalf Turner of Collin Turner of Harris Fallon Meyer Miles Turner of Tarrant Farias Miller of Comal Farney VanDeaver Miller of Fort Bend Villalba Farrar Minjarez Vo Fletcher Moody Walle Flynn White of Bell White of Tyler Frank Morrison Frullo Muñoz, Jr. Galindo Workman Murphy Geren Murr Wray Giddings Naishtat Wıı

Nevárez

Oliveira

Goldman

Gonzales

Zedler

Zerwas

	H.R. No. 3334
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 3334 was	adopted by the House on May 28,
2015, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House